Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2009, 05:33 PM
patubb patubb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Sacramento, CA
Posts: 7
Any tips for configuring SCRT 4 satellite conections?

Hi.

I recently picked up an client halfway across the world from me. They only have satellite internet service available at 128k down/64K up.

Lag is terrible from a branch office on the other side of their city running a character based DB (Universe) in SCO Openserver 5.0.6.

Any tips on settings that may make the connection more usable with SCRT?

Thanks.
__________________

-------------------------------------------------
Pat Welch, UBB Computer Services, a WCS Affiliate
SCO Authorized Partner
Microlite BackupEdge Certified Reseller
Unix/Linux/Windows/Hardware Sales/Support
(209) 745-1401 Cell: (209) 251-9120
E-mail: patubb@inreach.com
-------------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2009, 05:58 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,093
I think a feature that you might find very helpful with a high-latency connection is the SecureCRT Chat Window (View / Chat Window).

Using the Chat Window, you can type/edit commands all from within a local window so that when you press a key, you don't have to wait for the corresponding character to be sent to the remote and echo'd back in order for it to appear in the terminal screen. Also, the Chat Window supports an internal command history that can be navigated using the Up/Down Arrow keys to cycle through the list of commands that you have previously typed in.

Here's a link to a tip on our web site with some more detailed information, including a screen-shot or two:
http://www.vandyke.com/support/tips/chat.html
Depending on how often you use commands repetitively, you might also find the button bar (View / Button Bar) useful in that you can map buttons to send frequently-used commands so that you don't have to wait painfully for the command to be echo'd from the remote to see if you typed it in correctly before you press Enter to actually send the command.

Here's a link to a tip on our main web site that discusses the SecureCRT Button Bar:
http://www.vandyke.com/support/tips/buttonbar.html
There could be other features that might help you, depending on what you find yourself doing more often. If you want to provide more details as to what it is you're doing, but don't want the world to see, feel free to send us an e-mail message for a more private conversation. Otherwise, just post a response with more details here, and we'll be happy to answer specific questions you might have.

Does this information help?

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2009, 06:26 PM
patubb patubb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Sacramento, CA
Posts: 7
That's an interesting use of the chat window. But not practical at the clients branches.

If there are no specific settings recommended for satellite links, then perhaps setting half-duplex on the server might help the same way chat would have, IE you see your input in real time.

Checking the Local Echo box under Terminal/Emulation/Advanced I assume would kick SCRT into half duplex, right?
__________________

-------------------------------------------------
Pat Welch, UBB Computer Services, a WCS Affiliate
SCO Authorized Partner
Microlite BackupEdge Certified Reseller
Unix/Linux/Windows/Hardware Sales/Support
(209) 745-1401 Cell: (209) 251-9120
E-mail: patubb@inreach.com
-------------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2009, 10:57 AM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,093
The "Local echo" option in SecureCRT affects SecureCRT's behavior only -- it does not result in any instructions for the remote to stop echoing data it receives. "Local echo" simply instructs SecureCRT to display characters typed immediately (whether or not the remote will echo them).

You'll need to turn off echo on the remote side in the specific way that it requires, either through an 'stty' setting in start-up scripts or some other mechanism.

If you don't somehow tell the remote to not echo data, you'll likely get characters doubled up when they're displayed -- once when they're typed, and again when the remote echo's them back to SecureCRT.

On many *NIX system varieties, the command 'stty -echo' turns off echo for the remote. You'll need figure out what's the best way to accomplish this on your remote system.

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2009, 11:33 AM
patubb patubb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Sacramento, CA
Posts: 7
Thanks, Jake, for confirming that setting on SCRT changes the behavior to what I want.

I'm well aware the server has to be kicked into half-duplex mode also to avoid double characters.
__________________

-------------------------------------------------
Pat Welch, UBB Computer Services, a WCS Affiliate
SCO Authorized Partner
Microlite BackupEdge Certified Reseller
Unix/Linux/Windows/Hardware Sales/Support
(209) 745-1401 Cell: (209) 251-9120
E-mail: patubb@inreach.com
-------------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:54 PM.