Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2016, 12:44 AM
gentlel gentlel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
SecureCRT SSH disconnect window size

Hello guys,

hope you can help me. I am using the latest version of SecureCRT.
When I connect to my ssh server and the SecureCRT window is in full view, i get a disconnect from the server. It works when I resize the window.

I didn't find a answer in the documentation.
Can somebody help me?

Greets
gentlel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2016, 08:15 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi gentlel,

What OS is SecureCRT installed on?

Quote:
When I connect to my ssh server and the SecureCRT window is in full view, i get a disconnect from the server.
Please clarify what you mean by the above statement.

Is SecureCRT in full screen mode?

If so, if you are using SecureCRT/Mac, are you referring to OSX's full screen support or SecureCRT's?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2016, 05:59 AM
gentlel gentlel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Hey sorry for my delay.

Im using Windows 7 and the problem appears when i maximize my SecureCRT window. SecureCRT connects but when i try to type something the connection aborts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2016, 07:41 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi gentlel,

I am still a bit confused as to the state of the window, but probably what will be most helpful at this juncture is Trace Options output. Since the session disconnects, you may want to log this output to a file by also choosing Log Session from the File menu and giving it a location and filename.

To enable trace options output:
  • First, open SecureCRT's main File pull-down menu and select Trace Options. If you open the File pull down menu again you should see a checkmark next to Trace Options, indicating that troubleshooting output is now enabled.
  • Next, connect to the remote machine. With trace options enabled, you will notice debugging information displayed in the terminal window that isn't normally there by default when SecureCRT is attempting to establish a connection, and at certain times throughout the lifetime of the connection.
  • Once the problem occurs, please right-click inside the terminal window and choose Select All, then right-click again and choose Copy to transfer the information to the clipboard.
  • Finally, open a text editor, paste the information from the clipboard into the editor program, and save it as a text file.
Since trace options can contain sensitive information, feel free to send it as an attachment via email to support@vandyke.com. Please reference "Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #12239" in the subject line.

NOTICE: The requested troubleshooting data may include sensitive information (usernames, passwords, publicly-accessible host names or IP addresses, etc.).

Please redact sensitive information that would not be appropriate for email communication prior to sending the requested information.

If there is sensitive information that must be conveyed in order to provide a complete picture of the scenario you're facing, please let us know and we will set up a secure upload mechanism that can be used.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2016, 05:06 AM
gentlel gentlel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks for your reply.

I will sent it to the Email.
I can post it here too for users which have the same problem.


Code:
host : SEND[0]: window-change (rows: 70, cols: 232)        
host : RECV[0]: remote process exit-signal: SEGV
[LOCAL] :       remote process dumped core
[LOCAL] : RECV[0]: channel eof
[LOCAL] : SEND[0]: SSH_MSG_CHANNEL_EOF 
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_CONNECTION to STATE_TRANSPORT_STOPPING 
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_TRANSPORT_STOPPING to STATE_CLOSING 
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_CLOSING to STATE_ALMOST_CLOSED 
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_ALMOST_CLOSED to STATE_CLOSED 
[LOCAL] : Connected for 16 seconds, 2145 bytes sent, 5760 bytes received
[LOCAL] : Stream has closed [CLOSE_TYPE_NONSPECIFIC] : Der Vorgang wurde erfolgreich beendet.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2016, 09:39 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi gentlel,

I don't believe we received anything yet via email.

This snippet of trace indicates a core dump occurring on the remote server. Be certain the trace options output you send us via email includes the connection from the very beginning so we can identify the remote SSH server (remote identifier line). If you can, also include a verbose/debug log from the remote server.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2016, 02:49 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi gentlel,

Here's some additional info.

If the remote process is core dumping as a result of a window size change, it's highly likely that the remote process has a very limited operating scope. It's possible the remote process cannot handle anything different than 24x80 or 24x132 (rows x columns) or something along those lines.

You might want to start out with rows and cols set to 24x80 in the Terminal / Emulation category of SecureCRT's Session Options and then manually resize (dragging the bottom right corner of the application window) until the disconnect occurs, which should tell you the largest window size the (poorly-developed or resource-challenged) remote app can handle.

Once you find out what that value is (from SecureCRT's status bar), configure it in Session Options and enable Scale the font in the same category (On resize grouping) so that maximizing the window doesn't cause a window dimension change on the remote (thereby avoiding the crash).
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.