Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Scripting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2018, 08:59 AM
iveybilly iveybilly is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2
Import Data To SecureCRT Sessions: Data File Error

I keep getting this error when trying to import sessions to SecureCRT via .csv. You can see that emulation is correctly entered, but it does not recognize it as a supported field. Has anyone seen this before?

Import Data To SecureCRT Sessions: Data File Error

Error: Unknown field designation: "emulation

Supported fields are as follows:

description,emulation,folder,hostname,port,protocol,session_name,username

For a description of supported fields, please see the comments in the sample script file.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2018, 09:05 AM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 654
Hi iveybilly,

I'm sorry you're having trouble.

I have seen in the past that trailing spaces can cause trouble. Is it possible that your field has one or more trailing spaces behind the "emulation"?

If not, would it be possible for you to send me a copy of your excel sheet, just the first row, via email for testing. Please send the sheet to Support@VanDyke.com with "Attn Eric Forum Post 12963" in the subject line.
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2018, 09:21 AM
iveybilly iveybilly is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2
Email Sent

Heading your way
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2018, 09:44 AM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 654
Hi iveybilly,

It looks like there may be a little confusion about creating CSV files in Excel vs a text editor like Notepad.

Excel will automatically add the required "," between each cell. Therefore each field will go in a different column without requiring a "," be entered.



If you are using a text editor, that's less sophisticated than Excel, you will need to manually enter the "," to separate the data.



Both of these images are the same file opened with a different application. It looks like it's just a matter of Excel doing some of the work for you.

Does using Excel and modifying your CSV to have only one field in each column change the behavior you see?
Attached Images
File Type: png ExcelCSVExample.png (3.9 KB, 762 views)
File Type: png TextEditorCSVExample.png (5.4 KB, 742 views)
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
script , sessions


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 PM.