Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2015, 07:46 AM
Adam Burg Adam Burg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Environment not cleared in 7.3.1 when opening local shell

Hi,

I have been using SecureCRT 7.0.0 up until recently but due to incompatibilities with Yosemite, I upgraded to 7.3.1 to evaluate whether that version fixes the problems I have with the old version, so that I'd know if it makes sense to renew my license for the full version of the upgrade.

Unfortunately, the current handling of opening the local shell (using CMD+L) breaks any scripting I have. Developer tools (make, cmake, etc.) that are not in the /bin:/usr/bin/:/usr/sbin etc. basic PATH are not found at all.

I restored the 7.0.0 version through TimeMachine into a different folder and ran the two versions in parallel. Both use the same config files, of course, however, I have tested the new version with blank config (by deleting Default.ini in Sessions and Global.ini so that they get recreated), and that didn't change anything.

My default shell is zsh. However, for instance, Apache Ant uses a wrapper that uses 'sh' via she-bang (#!/usr/bin/sh). This is where the problems begin (both times I open the local shell via CMD + L):

in v7.0.0:

[ 15:38:15 ] [ ~ ] ➜ env | grep PATH
PATH=/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/usr/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p125/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p125@global/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/rubies/ruby-1.9.3-p125/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin

[ 15:38:38 ] [ ~ ] ➜ sh
sh-3.2$ echo $PATH
/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/usr/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p125/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p125@global/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/rubies/ruby-1.9.3-p125/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin
sh-3.2$

in v7.3.1:

[ 15:37:10 ] [ ~ ] ➜ env | grep PATH
PATH=/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/usr/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p125/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/gems/ruby-1.9.3-p125@global/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/rubies/ruby-1.9.3-p125/bin:/Users/abg/.rvm/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin
PATH=/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin

[ 15:39:27 ] [ ~ ] ➜ sh
sh-3.2$ echo $PATH
/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin
sh-3.2$

As you can see, in 7.3.1, I have:

1. Two different instances of the PATH variable in the same environment
2. Probably because the subshell gets the second set of PATH, the 'sh' only has the default pathes and all my build tools are unreachable via 'path' in the subshell.

It seems that this is not a Yosemite-specific problem but rather something in the way the new version opens the local shell (probably how the environment variables are handled when invoking the shell programmatically).

More facts:

- Using Terminal.app to open a local shell works. My $PATH contains the non-standard pathes I add in my .profile etc. scripts.
- iTerm2 v1.0 had the same problem SecureCRT has now. iTerm2 v2.0 fixed that issue for many people who reported that bug in iTerm2.

I have tried to set a "Pre-connect" command / Local shell command both in
1. Global options -> Connection -> protocol: local shell / name: default -> Pre-Connect -> login -f $USER
2. The same setting in Session Options

The command I used would open a login shell without preserving the environment variables of the invoking process.

Neither setting will stick (I didn't want to modify 'all' sessions though, when I asked, just the default one).


Regards,

Adam

Last edited by Adam Burg; 02-27-2015 at 08:08 AM. Reason: Correction: The previous version I was using is 7.0.0, not 6.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2015, 08:50 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hello Adam,

The *current official release* (as of February 26) is v7.3.2, but in my tests, the results are the same.

I have submitted this behavior for investigation by the development team. Should progress be made toward a resolution, or further information be requested, I will post in this thread.

If you prefer direct e-mail notification, contact support@vandyke.com and include "Bug Report - Forum Thread #11897" in the subject line.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2015, 03:13 AM
Adam Burg Adam Burg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Hi,

is there any progress regarding this issue? My evaluation period is expiring and this problem is really annoying in my daily work.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2015, 08:59 AM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,531
Hi Adam,

We haven't had a chance to look at this yet. I'm hoping we can get to it next week. We can extend your evaluation if necessary.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2015, 02:23 AM
Adam Burg Adam Burg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Hi Maureen,

I will go back to 7.0.x for now, as that works as required in this regard. Thanks for the offer, but extending the evaluation would not fix my problem, after all. Please notify me if the problem is fixed (or well, even if it won't be fixed).

Thanks,

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2015, 11:56 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hello Adam,

There is a new build available the development team believes resolves the reported issue.

Please contact us at support@vandyke.com and reference "Forum Thread #11897" in the subject line.

If not writing us from the email address associated with your download account, please provide the email address associated with it (if you have one). If you do not have one, we will provide information on how to create it, but since there will be no prior installers to pattern-match by, please indicate if you prefer:
  • integrated or non-integrated installer

  • .dmg or .tar.gz installer
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2015, 03:12 AM
Adam Burg Adam Burg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Hi Brenda,

thanks for the fix. It seems to be helping, there is now only a single PATH variable in the environment and all my build scripts working again!

Thanks,

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2015, 07:55 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi Adam,

Thanks for posting an update. That fix will be included in the next official release of SecureCRT.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 PM.