Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2014, 08:38 AM
eiregobragh eiregobragh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Exclamation CRT very slow to log onto devices

Hi there,
I've noticed that in the last week or so CRT has become very slow at logging onto devices via SSH and/or Telnet.

Is there any reason for this?

My colleague has also noticed the same issue.

We're running version 7.2.5

Thanks,

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2014, 10:19 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Paul,

I would say that there isn't an explicit SecureCRT reason for this.

You may consider finding out what changed in the network environment about a week ago.

Since you see the slowness for both SSH2 and Telnet connections, you may want to use a packet tracing utility to see where the slowdown is occurring along the network path.

Another tool that may be helpful is the SecureCRT trace options capability. You could see where in the output the slowness is occurring. You can enable Trace Options in the File menu prior to connecting. It may be more helpful for SSH2 connections as opposed to Telnet connections.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:01 PM
Casey Casey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 114
Do you guys happen to use radius authentication for your logons? Perhaps you have a radius server having issues and authentication requests are timing out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2014, 03:42 AM
eiregobragh eiregobragh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Hi Guys,
thanks for your replies.

Perhaps I should have been clearer, the slowness happens the first time I attempt to log into a device after opening CRT, I get the "application not responding" alert and the application greys out for approx 60secs.

Subsequent SSH connections work fine however, so rather than this being a "network issue" I believe this has something to do with the application.

Are there any known bugs for the above behavior?

Thanks,

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2014, 09:49 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Paul,

Thanks for the update. This is not a known issue, so I would still like to know what has changed in the environment. If you didn't see this a week ago, then my guess is that something changed.

What is the location of the configuration folder?

You can find this in the General / Configuration Paths category of the Global Options dialog.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2014, 09:37 AM
eiregobragh eiregobragh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Hi there,
to our knowledge nothing has changed, could it be a windows update that has caused this?

Our cofig files are stored locally on all our PC, e.g. on mine:

C:\Users\me\work\VanDyke\Config


FYI Putty connects fine.

Thanks,

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2014, 04:10 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Paul,

Thanks for the update. Did trace options output tell you more about where the delay is?

Are you using the personal configuration folder option?

I wonder if you see this issue using a new clean configuration folder. You can create a new configuration folder by adding a 1 to the end of the existing path. You will need to close and reopen SecureCRT to test this.

I don't think that it is a Windows update, but at this point, I am not sure we can rule anything out since you are using a local path for your configuration folder.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2014, 04:16 AM
eiregobragh eiregobragh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Hi Todd,
sorry for the tardy reply.

So below is the trace options output:

[LOCAL] : SSH2Core version 7.3.0.597
[LOCAL] : Connecting to 10.16.140.x:22 ...
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_NOT_CONNECTED to STATE_EXPECT_KEX_INIT
[LOCAL] : Using protocol SSH2
[LOCAL] : RECV : Remote Identifier = 'SSH-2.0-Cisco-1.25'
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote can re-key
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote sends language in password change requests
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote sends algorithm name in PK_OK packets
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote sends algorithm name in public key packets
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote sends algorithm name in signatures
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote sends error text in open failure packets
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote sends name in service accept packets
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote includes port number in x11 open packets
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote uses 160 bit keys for SHA1 MAC
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote supports new diffie-hellman group exchange messages
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote correctly handles unknown SFTP extensions
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote correctly encodes OID for gssapi
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote correctly uses connected addresses in forwarded-tcpip requests
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote can do SFTP version 4
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote uses SHA1 hash in RSA signatures for x.509v3
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote x.509v3 uses ASN.1 encoding for DSA signatures
[LOCAL] : CAP : Remote correctly handles zlib@openssh.com
[LOCAL] : SSPI : Requesting full delegation
[LOCAL] : SSPI : [Kerberos] SPN : host@10.16.140.x
[LOCAL] : SSPI : [Kerberos] InitializeSecurityContext() failed.
[LOCAL] : SSPI : [Kerberos] The specified target is unknown or unreachable
[LOCAL] : SSPI : [Kerberos] Disabling gss mechanism
[LOCAL] : GSS : Requesting full delegation
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos] SPN : host@10.16.140.x
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos] InitializeSecurityContext() failed.
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos] Could not load library 'gssapi64.dll': The specified module could not be found.
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos] Disabling gss mechanism
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos] Disabling gss mechanism
[LOCAL] : The following key exchange method has been filtered from the key exchange method list because it is not supported: gss-group1-sha1-toWM5Slw5Ew8Mqkay+al2g==
[LOCAL] : SSPI : Requesting full delegation
[LOCAL] : SSPI : [Kerberos (Group Exchange)] SPN : host@10.16.140.x
[LOCAL] : SSPI : [Kerberos (Group Exchange)] InitializeSecurityContext() failed.
[LOCAL] : SSPI : [Kerberos (Group Exchange)] The specified target is unknown or unreachable
[LOCAL] : SSPI : [Kerberos (Group Exchange)] Disabling gss mechanism
[LOCAL] : GSS : Requesting full delegation
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos (Group Exchange)] SPN : host@10.16.140.x
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos (Group Exchange)] InitializeSecurityContext() failed.
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos (Group Exchange)] Could not load library 'gssapi64.dll': The specified module could not be found.
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos (Group Exchange)] Disabling gss mechanism
[LOCAL] : GSS : [Kerberos (Group Exchange)] Disabling gss mechanism
[LOCAL] : The following key exchange method has been filtered from the key exchange method list because it is not supported: gss-gex-sha1-toWM5Slw5Ew8Mqkay+al2g==
[LOCAL] : SEND : KEXINIT
[LOCAL] : RECV : Read kexinit
[LOCAL] : Available Remote Kex Methods = diffie-hellman-group1-sha1
[LOCAL] : Selected Kex Method = diffie-hellman-group1-sha1
[LOCAL] : Available Remote Host Key Algos = ssh-rsa
[LOCAL] : Selected Host Key Algo = ssh-rsa
[LOCAL] : Available Remote Send Ciphers = aes128-cbc,3des-cbc,aes192-cbc,aes256-cbc
[LOCAL] : Selected Send Cipher = aes256-cbc
[LOCAL] : Available Remote Recv Ciphers = aes128-cbc,3des-cbc,aes192-cbc,aes256-cbc
[LOCAL] : Selected Recv Cipher = aes256-cbc
[LOCAL] : Available Remote Send Macs = hmac-sha1,hmac-sha1-96,hmac-md5,hmac-md5-96
[LOCAL] : Selected Send Mac = hmac-sha1
[LOCAL] : Available Remote Recv Macs = hmac-sha1,hmac-sha1-96,hmac-md5,hmac-md5-96
[LOCAL] : Selected Recv Mac = hmac-sha1
[LOCAL] : Available Remote Compressors = none
[LOCAL] : Selected Compressor = none
[LOCAL] : Available Remote Decompressors = none
[LOCAL] : Selected Decompressor = none
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_EXPECT_KEX_INIT to STATE_KEY_EXCHANGE
[LOCAL] : SEND : KEXDH_INIT
SecureCRT - Version 7.3.0 (x64 build 597)
[LOCAL] : RECV : KEXDH_REPLY
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_KEY_EXCHANGE to STATE_READY_FOR_NEW_KEYS
[LOCAL] : RECV: Remote Hostkey (SHA-1 hash): a6:48:50:bc:08:96:59:84:f6:6a:93:07:bc:09:00:fa:6d:86:f2:10
[LOCAL] : RECV: Remote Hostkey (MD5 hash): dd:4c:9b:44:e0:28:12:02:8a:7c:92:45:b8:9c:31:4e
[LOCAL] : SEND : NEWKEYS
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_READY_FOR_NEW_KEYS to STATE_EXPECT_NEWKEYS
[LOCAL] : RECV : NEWKEYS
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_EXPECT_NEWKEYS to STATE_CONNECTION
[LOCAL] : SEND: SERVICE_REQUEST[ssh-userauth]
[LOCAL] : RECV: SERVICE_ACCEPT[ssh-userauth] -- OK
[LOCAL] : SENT : USERAUTH_REQUEST [none]
[LOCAL] : RECV : SSH_MSG_USERAUTH_BANNER
[LOCAL] : RECV : USERAUTH_FAILURE, continuations [keyboard-interactive,password]
[LOCAL] : SENT : USERAUTH_REQUEST [password]


******** Cork BHG Data Core ********
[LOCAL] : RECV : AUTH_SUCCESS
[LOCAL] : SEND[0]: SSH_MSG_CHANNEL_OPEN('session')
[LOCAL] : SEND[0]: Pty Request (rows: 73, cols: 193)
[LOCAL] : RECV[0]: pty request succeeded
[LOCAL] : SEND[0]: shell request
[LOCAL] : RECV[0]: shell request succeeded
Switch1#


All looks ok
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2014, 04:19 AM
eiregobragh eiregobragh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Hi Todd,
I upgraded to the 7.3 beta1 version but still seeing the same slowness in connecting to the initial SSH session. Again to repeat myself, all subsequent SSH sessions respond fine it's just the first one that takes approx 50secs where the application seems to freeze.

Note: all users here with 7.2.5 see the same issue but colleagues using 7.1.1 and 7.2.3 do not see this issue.

Thanks,

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2014, 03:26 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Thanks for the update Paul. It is helpful information.

I think that I would like to know what you see when monitoring SecureCRT using Process Monitor (ProcMon).

If you would like to send the log file, please send it to support@vandyke.com with a subject of Attn: Todd - Forum thread #11616.

Would you let me know if ProcMon sheds some light on the apparent 1 minute hang when connecting your first session?

It may be helpful to compare a ProcMon log from a machine where you don't see the issue and one where you do.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-25-2014, 03:41 PM
jdboyce jdboyce is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Having issues with slow connectivity to devices while using SecureCRT 7.2.6

I was previously using a 7.0 version of SecureCRT and never had any kind of connectivity issue and last week decided to upgrade to 7.2.6. Once I done this, more than one connection slows things down quite a bit. My configuration is hosted on my local machine and even when I tried to go back to the 7.0 version, still had the slow connection problem. First connection can take approximately 15 - 30 seconds to load and addition can take up to 2 minutes. I have several port forwarding connections setup (old version was the same), and all the recommendations that I found in the forums, I have tried with little to no improvements. I have a check that I run on multiple systems (use to be able to do all at once), however, if I try now, my machine basically halts. Any other suggestions that I may be able to try to improve connections?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-25-2014, 05:02 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi jdboyce,

Since you see this issue in both versions of SecureCRT, my guess is that this is environmental, but we would need more information to see if this is the case or not.

Would you send trace options output for a slow connection to support@vandyke.com with a subject of Attn: Support - Forum thread #11616?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-17-2014, 08:03 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi All,

I was able to work with Paul (eiregobragh), and we found that the slowness was due to resolving a network printer.

We removed the printer from the SecureCRT configuration, and the slowness is resolved.

It is important to note that these types of issues will likely need to be handled on a case by case basis, and Process Monitor may be a good way to determine what is happening.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:05 AM.