Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2014, 02:26 AM
Alessandro Alessandro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Strange behaviour with arrows

Hello everyone, I'm facing with a strange behaviour using arrows keys
Exactly, if I push on arrow up, for came back to my previous commands gave, the previous comamnd is always printed to the right of shell

I'm using CRT version Version 6.2.3 (x64 build 313) - Official Release - September 10, 2009
My terminal settings are VT100, Logical rows=44, Logical columns=94

Current Modes:Cursor key mode is ON
Current Modes:Line wrap is ON
Current Modes:Numeric keypad is ON

Can anyone help me please?

Thanks' in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2014, 09:16 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Alessandro,

I am not sure that I fully understand the issue, but it sounds like it might be a shell prompt issue.

What is the defined prompt that you are using?

Can you post a screenshot of the issue?

What shell are you using?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2014, 05:41 AM
Alessandro Alessandro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Hello thanks for reply
I'm tring to insert file or image follow as wrote in FAQ page, but I don't see any "Manage attachments" button
BTW, I'm using a unix shell, VT100 but I tried to export the session profile into another CRT software installed on another PC and it works fine
The issue, indeed very strange, is that every time I push on UP arrow for repeat last command, this last command will be printed almost at the end of row
If I continue to push UP arrow, the previous command is always printed almost at the end of row
I try to copy and past the shell below but a if I can attach a snapshot it's better

RMSCP2B1 linus> uptime
1:40pm up 1479 day(s), 10:35, 4 users, load average: 1.31, 1.30, 1.31
RMSCP2B1 linus> uptime
df -h
Filesystem Size Used Available Capacity Mounted on
/dev/md/dsk/d10 12G 1.4G 10G 13% /
/devices 0K 0K 0K 0% /devices
ctfs 0K 0K 0K 0% /system/contract

.............
.............
.............

RMSCP2B1 linus>


As you can see, it should be better image , above, df -h command has been printed at right of the shell

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2014, 07:55 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Alessandro,

I am having a hard time understanding the issue based on what you typed. It seems like a snapshot may help.

To upload a snapshot, click in the paperclip icon to the right of the smilies icon. That icon will open the Manage Attachments dialog which allows one to upload a file.

Does this help?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2014, 09:59 AM
Alessandro Alessandro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
I used flickr

https://www.flickr.com/photos/101594...2/14533510013/

I hope that's ok

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2014, 10:18 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Alessandro,

Thanks for the photo. Now I clearly understand the behavior.

I think that we need to get a raw log that reflects the output to see what might be happening. Typically, SecureCRT only draws what the remote tells it to draw.

On the other computer where you don't see this issue, what are the rows and columns?

What version of SecureCRT is installed on the other computer?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2014, 10:37 AM
Alessandro Alessandro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Hello, on another PC where this issue isn't present CRT's version is
Version 5.0.0 (build 992) - Official Release - June 16, 2005

At bottom of CRT is indicated

47 row, 132 col. VT100

Follow the RAW log of PC where this issue is present:

df -h
Filesystem Size Used Available Capacity Mounted on
/dev/dsk/c1t0d0s0 7.9G 2.5G 5.3G 33% /
/devices 0K 0K 0K 0% /devices
ctfs 0K 0K 0K 0% /system/contract
proc 0K 0K 0K 0% /proc
mnttab 0K 0K 0K 0% /etc/mnttab
swap 32G 1.5M 32G 1% /etc/svc/volatile
objfs 0K 0K 0K 0% /system/object
fd 0K 0K 0K 0% /dev/fd
/dev/dsk/c1t2d0s0 12G 3.6G 8.1G 32% /var
swap 33G 766M 32G 3% /tmp
swap 32G 40K 32G 1% /var/run
/dev/md/dsk/d40 212G 8.6G 201G 5% /osp
/dev/md/dsk/d30 7.9G 4.2G 3.6G 54% /osp/3rdpty
/dev/md/dsk/d20 5.9G 698M 5.2G 12% /osp/delivery
/dev/did/dsk/d2s3 565M 3.6M 505M 1% /global/.devices/node@1
/dev/did/dsk/d5s3 565M 3.6M 505M 1% /global/.devices/node@2
RMSMP3 root#ls
InstallShield dev export kernel mbox net nohup.out platform sbin tmp
bin devices global lib mnt nfs opt proc sun usr
cron_sh etc home lost+found myscripts noautoshutdown osp prz.dfl system var
RMSMP3 root#ls lsdf -h
Filesystem Size Used Available Capacity Mounted on
/dev/dsk/c1t0d0s0 7.9G 2.5G 5.3G 33% /
/devices 0K 0K 0K 0% /devices
ctfs 0K 0K 0K 0% /system/contract
proc 0K 0K 0K 0% /proc
mnttab 0K 0K 0K 0% /etc/mnttab
swap 32G 1.5M 32G 1% /etc/svc/volatile
objfs 0K 0K 0K 0% /system/object
fd 0K 0K 0K 0% /dev/fd
/dev/dsk/c1t2d0s0 12G 3.6G 8.1G 32% /var
swap 33G 766M 32G 3% /tmp
swap 32G 40K 32G 1% /var/run
/dev/md/dsk/d40 212G 8.6G 201G 5% /osp
/dev/md/dsk/d30 7.9G 4.2G 3.6G 54% /osp/3rdpty
/dev/md/dsk/d20 5.9G 698M 5.2G 12% /osp/delivery
/dev/did/dsk/d2s3 565M 3.6M 505M 1% /global/.devices/node@1
/dev/did/dsk/d5s3 565M 3.6M 505M 1% /global/.devices/node@2
RMSMP3 root#df -h df -hls 
InstallShield dev export kernel mbox net nohup.out platform sbin tmp
bin devices global lib mnt nfs opt proc sun usr
cron_sh etc home lost+found myscripts noautoshutdown osp prz.dfl system var
RMSMP3 root#


Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2014, 11:02 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Alessandro,

Thanks for the information. The log that you sent doesn't match the snapshot. We need a snapshot and a raw log that match.

Would you send me a raw log and a snapshot to support@vandyke.com with a subject of Attn: Todd - Forum Thread #11568?

Can you also confirm that you are using the Raw Log Session option in the File menu to generate the raw log file?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:36 AM.