Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2016, 12:20 PM
Olaf van der Spek Olaf van der Spek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Tab Header Width

The active header is bold, the others aren't. This affects the width of the tab header, which is kinda annoying when switching tabs.

Could the width stay constant?
Some extra padding might be nice too, such that all tab header have the same width like in Chrome.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2016, 01:45 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,636
Hi Olaf van der Spek,

I have added this thread to the following feature requests in our product enhancement database:
  • Make Minimum Tab Width able to expand tab title text so that tabs can be made larger (standard tab size)

  • Add option in SecureCRT to specify the maximum tab width in addition to the minimum (add padding)
Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #12551" in the subject line or use this form from the support page of our website.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2016, 05:05 AM
Olaf van der Spek Olaf van der Spek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Thanks. I'm not looking for options / settings though, I think options take longer to implement.

In browsers all tab headers have the same size, I think this'd be nice in SCRT as well.

Ah, I see there's a min size setting already.. but the default is really low. And it doesn't appear to affect anything.

Last edited by Olaf van der Spek; 11-30-2016 at 05:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2016, 11:58 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,636
Hi Olaf van der Spek,

Quote:
In browsers all tab headers have the same size, I think this'd be nice in SCRT as well.
Yes, that's still a feature request as shown in this other thread where you posted.

I have also added this thread to a feature request in our development database to make new tabs more browser-like. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, contact support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #12551" in the subject line.


Quote:
Ah, I see there's a min size setting already.. but the default is really low. And it doesn't appear to affect anything.
Your expectation is probably different than how the option is designed. It is configurable, from 20 to 300 pixels, but please see the Dialogs / Global Options Dialog / Terminal/Tabs/Tiling topic in SecureCRT's Help file for an explanation of the design.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2016, 12:13 PM
Olaf van der Spek Olaf van der Spek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgagnon View Post
Yes, that's still a feature request as shown in this other thread where you posted.
That one isn't really related though..
Quote:
Your expectation is probably different than how the option is designed. It is configurable, from 20 to 300 pixels, but please see the Dialogs / Global Options Dialog / Terminal/Tabs/Tiling topic in SecureCRT's Help file for an explanation of the design.
Wouldn't it be a simple change to always take the specified minimum size into account?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2016, 04:54 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Olaf,

The active tab width changes because by default a close button gets added to it when it becomes active. If you'd like SecureCRT to behave more like a browser, there's a global INI-file only option that can be set. Here are the instructions:
  1. Open the Global Options dialog and make a note of the Configuration folder (General/Configuration Paths category).
  2. Close SecureCRT.
  3. Go to the folder location from step #1 and open the "Global.INI" file for editing.
  4. Modify the following line as shown below:
    D:"Close Button On Tabs"=00000000
  5. Save the file and restart SecureCRT.
This will place the close button to the right of the tab bar rather than on the active tab.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:53 AM.