Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Secure Shell

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2011, 09:32 AM
Matt Perry Matt Perry is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
How to disable X11 forwarding warning dialog?

I keep X11 forwarding turned on for my sessions even though I do not always run an X11 server on my workstation. SecureCRT pops up an annoying dialog box to tell me that the X11 request is being rejected. This irritating dialog box appears to be something new (added in the last year or two). Can it be disabled? I want X11 forward to fail silently like it used to if I don't have an X11 server running.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2011, 10:15 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi Matt,

Thanks for the observation. When a remote X11 forwarding request fails, SecureCRT has not popped a dialog since at least 6.0.3 (I didn't test any older versions).

Can you tell me more about how your session is configured?

What version of SecureCRT are you using?

Would you be able to post a screenshot of the dialog?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2011, 12:57 PM
Matt Perry Matt Perry is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
I'm using SecureCRT 6.6.1. You'll need to be more specific about what you want to know about my session configuration. There's nothing unusual about it. Just a SSH2 connection with X11 forwarding enabled with linux terminal settings.

The dialog appears when I su to root. See attached screenshot.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (46.3 KB, 103 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2011, 09:40 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi Matt,

Thanks for the screenshot. This is really what I needed. The message you are seeing has been presented by SecureCRT when a valid X server is not present on the client machine since at least SecureCRT 5.0.x. If you only started seeing this message in the last year or so, you may have been running a very old version which I have not tested and did not present the message, or there was a change in your environment. Either way, I have created a feature request in our SecureCRT development database to add the ability to suppress this message. Should a future release of SecureCRT have this capability, we will post to this thread.

If you would like to be notified directly, please complete and submit the form at the following location:
Submit Feature Request
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2018, 05:27 PM
Matt Perry Matt Perry is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Todd, any update on this? It's been seven years waiting on a simple disable checkbox.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2018, 08:50 AM
jjh jjh is offline
VanDyke Customer Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 797
Hi Matt.

Thanks for checking in with us. There as been no movement on this, but I have added this inquiry to the entry that was created for you in our feature request database and forwarded it to the product manager. I will let you know if there is anything to report as a result.

Thank you

JJH
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2018, 02:40 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,518
This has been added to a pre-beta version of SecureCRT. Please email me at Maureen.Jett@vandyke.com if you'd like to try it.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 AM.