Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Scripting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2011, 05:16 AM
GJB56 GJB56 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Python script recording

When recording a keyboard script, how do I set the default to Python instead of VBS?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2011, 07:21 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi GJB56,

Thanks for the question. Regardless of the language you want to use, you record the script as you normally do. To save the recorded script as a Python script, you need to use a ".py" file extension. To save the same script as a VBScript, you would use the ".vbs" file extension.

Does this help to answer your question?

If not, are you asking how to default to using a ".py" file extension when saving a script?

If so, I have also created a feature request to add this capability to SecureCRT. Should a future release of SecureCRT have the ability to change the default file type, we will post to this thread.

If you would like to be notified directly, please complete and submit the form at the following location:
Submit Feature Request
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2011, 04:45 AM
GJB56 GJB56 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Python versions supported

Thank you for the quick response. What versions of Python are supported in CRT v6.7.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2011, 07:34 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi GJB56,

You are welcome. SecureCRT includes its own Python libraries and the version is 2.6. The version for python26.dll is 2.6.5150.1013.

Does this help to answer your question?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2011, 04:04 AM
GJB56 GJB56 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Sorry for the dumb questions but I am a Python novice. Would this work on Python ver 3.1/3.2?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2011, 01:04 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi GJB56,

I am not sure what it is you are asking. Are you asking whether you can use Python 3.1 with SecureCRT even though SecureCRT has 2.6 built in to the program?

If not, are you asking if you can record scripts that use Python 3.1 specific code?

Or are you asking if you can substitute Python 2.6 that is built-in with Python 3.1?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 PM.