Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Secure Shell

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2005, 08:52 AM
dmilton dmilton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
SecureCRT version 4 availability

My organization standardized on SecureCRT v4 with a site license. However, they depend on distribution via download from the VanDyke web page . VanDyke, however, no longer has version 4 on the download page. How can I get a copy of the install files for version 4?
Don Milton, MD, DrPH
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2005, 09:24 AM
vforum-admin vforum-admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Previous versions *are* available on the web site

Don:

You can find previous releases of VanDyke Software products, including SecureCRT 4.X on our Previous Releases page.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2005, 09:44 AM
dmilton dmilton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks for the very prompt reply!

It is great to be able to get back to work!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2005, 08:19 AM
rriley's Avatar
rriley rriley is offline
VanDyke Customer Care
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13
Hi dmilton,

Glad to hear that your team is up and running.

Was there a particular function of SecureCRT 4.0/4.1 which prompted your organization to standardize on that particular version?

Have any changes with the 5.0 release negatively affected your organization's usage of SecureCRT?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2005, 11:16 PM
rtfmoz rtfmoz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Hi,

I would certainly standardize on version 4.x at the moment considering my experiences with the 5.x product. In environments where IP addressed do not resolve to names in the DNS, version 5.x has been a major difficulty. This is expecially true when supporting multiple client environments and NAT addressing is used for most servers we connect to. You have to wait for up to 45 seconds for the 5.x client to prompt you for a login. This is apparently a feature in the GSSAPI that cannot be turned off.

I have a workaround but its it very strange I have to do this for nearly every login profile that I create. When I create a new profile, goto SSH2, select GSSAPI authentication, goto properties, then advanced, tick manually specify the SPN. Type in yeah@yeah.com, Click OK.. now DESELECT the GSSAPI as I do not use it anyway. This fixes the problem with delays on login. It appears that GSSAPI does reverse name lookups regardless if you are using it as authentication or not.

This problem makes the 5.x client very painful to use.

Regards

Kevin Davies
CSC Australia
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2005, 02:12 PM
tnygren's Avatar
tnygren tnygren is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,408
Hi Kevin,

This is something that we are aware of and are looking to correct.

I have added this forum thread to our development database so a note can be posted here when this is resolved.

If you would rather be contacted via email, please send an email to support@vandyke.com with the subject of ATTN: Teresa Forum Thread 1095.
__________________
Thanks,

Teresa

Teresa Nygren
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:05 AM
nategasser nategasser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Problems with reverse lookup

I've found this to be a major problem as well, and the stated workaround doesn't work for me. But I don't even get the long delays, I get a timeout after about 30 seconds. Is there a way to extend the timeout? I'd be willing to wait if I could at least connect.

Also, any ETA on a fix for this problem?

Thanks,
Nate
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:07 AM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by nategasser
I've found this to be a major problem as well, and the stated workaround doesn't work for me. But I don't even get the long delays, I get a timeout after about 30 seconds. Is there a way to extend the timeout? I'd be willing to wait if I could at least connect.

Also, any ETA on a fix for this problem?

Thanks,
Nate
Are you attempting GSSAPI authentication, or some other authentication such as password or publickey?

Once the timeout occurs, SecureCRT should move on and attempt the next selected authentication method.

Are you saying that SecureCRT isn't moving on to the next authentication method, or is there some other problem occurring?

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-29-2005, 12:45 PM
nategasser nategasser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
I'm attempting password authentication. I've tried it with all the options checked, and with just password checked.

This timeout problem affects roughly half the hosts I try to connect to -- all on the public internet, no special firewalls or NAT. I have no trouble connecting to those hosts with SecureCRT 3.x, or with PuTTY. Connecting with the IP doesn't help.

I thought it had to do with the reverse name not being the same as the name I'm entering, but that doesn't appear to be the case, as sometimes I can connect to hosts like that.

Any ideas what's going on?
Nate.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-29-2005, 06:23 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by nategasser
I'm attempting password authentication. I've tried it with all the options checked, and with just password checked.

This timeout problem affects roughly half the hosts I try to connect to -- all on the public internet, no special firewalls or NAT. I have no trouble connecting to those hosts with SecureCRT 3.x, or with PuTTY. Connecting with the IP doesn't help.

I thought it had to do with the reverse name not being the same as the name I'm entering, but that doesn't appear to be the case, as sometimes I can connect to hosts like that.

Any ideas what's going on?
Nate.
Nate,

We might be able to get a better idea as to what the problem is if you can provide us with some Trace Options output.
- Prior to attempting a connection, enable Trace Options from the main File menu.

- Attempt the connection to the remote machine. You should notice a good deal of debug information displayed in the terminal screen are.

- At the point of failure, copy the debug information from the terminal screen/scrollback. This is the information we'd be interested in analysing.

Trace Option output can contain information that you don't necessarily want displayed in a public forum. If you would feel more comfortable with email, please send the Trace Options output of the failed connection attempt via email to support@vandyke.com with a subject of "SecureCRT authentication problem - Forum Thread #1095" and we'll see if there's anything glaringly obvious as to what the problem might be.

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:09 AM
nategasser nategasser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Actually, nothing sensitive was shown. Nothing too much at all:


SecureCRT - Version 5.0.4 (build 1065)
SecureCRT - Version 5.0.4 (build 1065)
----here's where the wait occurs------
[LOCAL] : Discarding invalid state change from STATE_NOT_CONNECTED to STATE_CLOSED.
[LOCAL] : Connected for 21 seconds, 0 bytes sent, 0 bytes received


Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-01-2005, 12:26 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 952
From the trace options output it appears that the machine can't be reached, and there's no GSSAPI output, so the problem you're reporting is different than the one that this thread originally started out as.

You mentioned that SecureCRT 3.x and putty could both connect, but SecureCRT 5.0.4 has difficulty.

Are you behind a firewall/proxy?

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-01-2005, 01:59 PM
nategasser nategasser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Jake,

I'm behind a Linksys WRT54G router, using NAT. As I mentioned, I connect no trouble to maybe 5 or 6 hosts, and I get that timeout for another 5 or 6. For the ones I timeout with, I can connect with v3 or with putty.

Thanks,
Nate
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-01-2005, 02:10 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 952
Nate,

Thanks for the info. The problem you are seeing in v5 might be related to a similar problem that has been fixed and will be available in the next release of SecureCRT.

If you are interested in trying out a pre-release version of SecureCRT that contains the fix to see if it resolves the problem for you, please send a request for a fix for DEV#11110 to support@vandyke.com with a subject of "VanDyke Software Forum Thread # 1095". If you also have SecureFX installed on the same machine as SecureCRT, please indicate which version of SecureFX, and whether or not SecureFX and SecureCRT are integrated (share the same configuration database).

Once we have received your email, we can provide you with download instructions for obtaining the fix and you can run a quick test to see if it resolves the problem for you.

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 PM.