Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2019, 02:51 PM
RWaldo RWaldo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
Open session from Windows Taskbar?

Hi! I've recently installed SecureCRT, and have been working my way through the features and configs. One thing missing. When you pin a certain other terminal emulator to the Windows taskbar and have saved sessions, it allows you to start a new session from the taskbar.



SecureCRT doesn't seem to have this. This is with two sessions saved.



Is there a configuration that would make this happen? If not, might it be a new feature in the future?

(If you do make it a new feature, I'd prefer the new session to open as a new tab if a SecureCRT window is already open, rather than a new window.)

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: png TcQiITo.png (15.7 KB, 21 views)
File Type: png hA1UPHY.png (4.2 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by jdev; 12-02-2019 at 10:15 AM. Reason: Use local (attached) versions of graphics.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2019, 03:37 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,048
Hi RWaldo,

What OS is SecureCRT installed on?

Version 6.1 is over 10 years old.

SecureCRT v8.5.x does support the feature:



I would have to do some research to see when the functionality was first implemented.

However, it does open a new window, so I have created a feature request on your behalf in our product enhancement database for the ability for sessions opened from SecureCRT pinned to taskbar to open in tab in existing window. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include Feature Request - Forum Thread #13989 in the subject line or use this form from the support page of our website.
Attached Images
File Type: png forum13989.png (85.8 KB, 54 views)
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2019, 03:47 PM
RWaldo RWaldo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
Thanks Brenda! Will check into upgrading (I should have checked that first.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2019, 07:26 PM
kdmorse kdmorse is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
However, it does open a new window, so I have created a feature request on your behalf in our product enhancement database for the ability for sessions opened from SecureCRT pinned to taskbar to open in tab in existing window. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.


Note that it will already open in an existing window if set to Single Instance mode by adding:

D:"Single Instance"=00000001

to Global.ini.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2019, 10:58 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,048
Yes, good point! Thank you kdmorse!
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2019, 09:20 AM
RWaldo RWaldo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
(Question was answered but my screenshots didn't appear, updating for archival purposes.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RWaldo View Post
Hi! I've recently installed SecureCRT, and have been working my way through the features and configs. One thing missing. When you pin a certain other terminal emulator to the Windows taskbar and have saved sessions, it allows you to start a new session from the taskbar.

https://i.imgur.com/TcQiITo.jpg

SecureCRT doesn't seem to have this. This is with two sessions saved.

https://i.imgur.com/hA1UPHY.jpg

Is there a configuration that would make this happen? If not, might it be a new feature in the future?

(If you do make it a new feature, I'd prefer the new session to open as a new tab if a SecureCRT window is already open, rather than a new window.)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2019, 09:25 AM
RWaldo RWaldo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
Thanks bgagnon! Didn't even think to check for an upgrade. Will look into it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 AM.