VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT 5.1/SecureFX 3.1/VShell 2.6 Beta
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2005, 08:16 PM
1sys_admin 1sys_admin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 5
80/132 columns using Tabs

If one tabbed session is in 80-column mode and another is in 132-column mode, this beta of SecureCRT 5.0 does not switch to the appropriate number of columns when you click on the tabs to switch between sessions.
  #2  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:09 PM
rlpm's Avatar
rlpm rlpm is offline
VanDyke Developer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 69
Lightbulb Initial Tab Rules Geometry

1sys_admin,

When working with tabs, the first session always dictates the geometry (window size/location, font choices, rows/columns, etc.) of all tabs regardless of the settings for the other sessions.

You can use two different windows to connect to sessions with different geometries.

To change the geometry in the current window, you can:
1) Change the settings of the first tab's session
-- These settings will now be in effect for all tabs in this window.
-- However, the settings in the other tabs' sessions will not change.

To apply the geometry settings from a different session, you can connect to that different session in a new window, or alternatively:
1) Close all but one tab (you cannot close the last tab without closing the window)
2) Disconnect from the last tab
3) Connect to a session

Regards,
--rlpm

Last edited by rlpm; 03-01-2005 at 12:44 PM.
  #3  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:40 PM
1sys_admin 1sys_admin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 5
Understood. I assume that this means that there is no intention of supporting different window geometries within tabs - therefore, this is not a bug - but rather a design limitation. For our company, this would make the use of tabs somewhat less desirable.
  #4  
Old 03-03-2005, 05:11 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,534
Currently, this is working as designed, but we are going to investigate the possibility of supporting different settings in different tabs. The settings we may be able to support are appearance-related settings such as whether toolbars and menu bars are shown, and 80/132 column switching.

Maureen
  #5  
Old 03-03-2005, 05:21 PM
1sys_admin 1sys_admin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 5
That would be great! I'll look forward to testing this in a future beta.
  #6  
Old 03-03-2005, 10:15 PM
markcs markcs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 18
132 Column Limit?

Hi,

Also, why is 132 columns the maximum column width? My screen could easily go a lot further than this, but I am limited by the software.

Any plans on removing the 132 column limit?
  #7  
Old 03-04-2005, 06:12 AM
jpv jpv is offline
Weekend Programmer and CEO
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: VanDyke Software
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by markcs
Hi,

Also, why is 132 columns the maximum column width? My screen could easily go a lot further than this, but I am limited by the software.

Any plans on removing the 132 column limit?
You can increase the maxium column limit from the Global Options dialog on the "Terminal/Appearance" page.

You will need to restart SecureCRT after you change this setting.

--Jeff
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 AM.


copyright 1995-2017 VanDyke Software, Inc.