Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Scripting

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2017, 06:01 AM
MarekAndreansky MarekAndreansky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Securely using passwords in sripts

I have a script that makes several jumps and requires knowledge of a different password per each jump.

Is there a way to send a request to a password database (KeePass or SecureCrt) from the script?

If a match would be found the password would be used, otherwise the user would be asked.

I could use the KeePass shortcut after each jump, but it would get tedious when connecting repeatedly.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2017, 09:20 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,636
Hi MarekAndreansky,

We do not know of any way to incorporate third-party credential managers into SecureCRT. Perhaps others in the community have a solution.

I have added this thread to a feature request in our product enhancement database for a substitution database for logon actions (expect/send, username/password, scripting). Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #12922" in the subject line or use this form from the support page of our website.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2017, 08:58 AM
VanDyke82nev VanDyke82nev is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarekAndreansky View Post
I have a script that makes several jumps and requires knowledge of a different password per each jump.

Is there a way to send a request to a password database (KeePass or SecureCrt) from the script?

If a match would be found the password would be used, otherwise the user would be asked.

I could use the KeePass shortcut after each jump, but it would get tedious when connecting repeatedly.
.
It sounds like you and I are on very similar projects. I have to solve the jumping part first, then worry about the passwords. Maybe you could share some tips on the 'jumping' part?
.
Jump Host to Remote Server -All-Script Challenge
https://s2-forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=12923
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2017, 01:52 PM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 654
Hi VanDyke82nev,

Please see the response to your question in the thread you linked.
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:05 AM.