VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT 5.1/SecureFX 3.1/VShell 2.6 Beta
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:24 AM
Bengt Bengt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
More CRT Requests

Hi
A couple of requests, some may have been mentioned before:
1. The possibilty to start more than one session from Auto Session Setup. Very useful when you want to start maybe 30 sessions at startup.
2. You can start all sessions within a folder in the connect window (requested earlier, but important...).
3. When you close the main window, it seems that it exit with all sessions open. A better solution is to ask if you really want to close or better still, ask if all session should be closed.
4. Make it possible to cascade or tile the sessions. Not only tabs.
5. When you have filled the tabs with sessions (20-30), they will be very small and hard to find the right session. Make it possible to sort them, pref. alphabetic order.
6. Make it possible to also use ctrl/c and ctrl/v for copy and paste.
7. Scrollback-buffer bigger than 32000.
  #2  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:49 AM
exo's Avatar
exo exo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Personally, please don't make Copy/Paste use Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V.

Ctrl-C == Abort in *nix, if it would copy text rather than aborting, this would be very irritating/annoying.

(Secure)CRT uses Ctrl-Insert / Shift-Insert as Copy/Paste pendant, which IMO is a very good replacement.
  #3  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:14 AM
okstorms's Avatar
okstorms okstorms is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 38
I agree with almost all of the suggestions, but I just wanted to point out that Ctrl-C, Ctrl-V, etc. is already an option.

Session Options
+ Terminal
+ + Mapped Keys
+ + "Use windows copy and paste hotkeys"
  #4  
Old 03-01-2005, 10:36 AM
mdella's Avatar
mdella mdella is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotts Valley, CA
Posts: 44
Just re-iterating a previous request :-)

Ok, I took the dive and downloaded both SCRT and SFX and installed both on my primary laptop (scary!)... and immediately got a "failed convert" on the installation of SCRT.

After reading the error, it looks like it didn't see the SFX DLL and errored on that. (I installed them in the order above). Not that its a big deal (it works now) but I almost had a heart attack after converting everything on my primary system (teaches me eh? talk about a risk taker).

So... for requests... I'd still like something like RSYNC in there or some resonable mechanism for syncing trees (not using the sync system in SFX at the moment as there is no way to create multiple sync sessions for different machines). Also I like the fact that rsync will update HUGE files by only transferring whats changed (ie. log files that grow and are in the > 150MB in size :-)

Ok, so this request was also a feable attempt to be one of the first 50 posters. I'll start using this a little more this morning and see what else I can find :-)

Thanks!

Marcos
__________________
Marcos Della
Data Center Cloud Architect
Nutanix

PGP Fingerprint: BDC7 AFFD E94F FA09 C839 9153 F5FF E128 3094 2B9E
Key ID: 0x30942B9E
  #5  
Old 03-01-2005, 10:43 AM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,099
FYI, SecureCRT natively supports copy and paste through CTRL+SHIFT+C and CTRL+SHIFT+V, respectively.

This could make sense for those who may find it more natural to use a derivative of CTRL+C and CTRL+V in comparison with using the Insert combination.

Alternativley, if you don't use CTRL+C very often within a *nix session, you might map CTRL+C to perform a MENU_COPY (or enable the "Use Windows copy and paste hotkeys" option) and map CTRL+SHIFT+C to send \003 to more closely match your usage pattern and comfort level.
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
  #6  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:01 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengt
Hi
A couple of requests, some may have been mentioned before:
1. The possibilty to start more than one session from Auto Session Setup. Very useful when you want to start maybe 30 sessions at startup.
2. You can start all sessions within a folder in the connect window (requested earlier, but important...).
We plan to implement groups in 5.0 or 5.1, which would address both of these issues.

Quote:
3. When you close the main window, it seems that it exit with all sessions open. A better solution is to ask if you really want to close or better still, ask if all session should be closed.
It will do this if the global option "Show confirm disconnect dialog" is on.

Quote:
4. Make it possible to cascade or tile the sessions. Not only tabs.
I will add this request to our development database for consideration.

Quote:
5. When you have filled the tabs with sessions (20-30), they will be very small and hard to find the right session. Make it possible to sort them, pref. alphabetic order.
You can make the minimum tab width larger by editing the following line in the global.ini file: D:"Min Tab Width"=00000028
In light of that, would you still like to be able to sort the tabs in alphabetic order?

Quote:
6. Make it possible to also use ctrl/c and ctrl/v for copy and paste.
7. Scrollback-buffer bigger than 32000.
How large would you like the scrollback buffer to be?

Maureen
  #7  
Old 03-09-2005, 06:21 AM
Bengt Bengt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Thank you.

3. It does not seem to work that way now. When you close the application (not session) there will not be a confirm dialog.
5. Yes, that would help.
7. A buffer of 500000 should cover most situations.
  #8  
Old 03-16-2005, 06:19 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengt
Thank you.

3. It does not seem to work that way now. When you close the application (not session) there will not be a confirm dialog.
How are you closing the application?

Quote:
5. Yes, that would help.
7. A buffer of 500000 should cover most situations.
I will add these to our development database for consideration in a future release.

Maureen
  #9  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:14 PM
toloughlin's Avatar
toloughlin toloughlin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengt
7. A buffer of 500000 should cover most situations.
Wow, I watched my memory usage go from 20MB@15000 buffer lines to 30MB@32000 buffer lines. Would that mean, at 500,000 lines, you'd be using about 400-500MB of RAM?
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Tom O'Loughlin
  #10  
Old 03-17-2005, 11:38 AM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by toloughlin
Wow, I watched my memory usage go from 20MB@15000 buffer lines to 30MB@32000 buffer lines. Would that mean, at 500,000 lines, you'd be using about 400-500MB of RAM?
Yes, that's why it wouldn't be the default and why the scrollback buffer size is configurable.

Maureen
  #11  
Old 06-03-2005, 11:20 AM
Killing Killing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 87
Why preallocate? Would not delayed incremental buffer allocation be a more sensible option then the default buffer could be more reasonably sized and for those of use who do use really large buffers for certain operations wouldn't have to always preallocate the ram.

Assuming preallocation is currently how its done of course, always have 32k scrollback so wouldn't notice :P
  #12  
Old 06-03-2005, 11:27 AM
jpv jpv is offline
Weekend Programmer and CEO
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: VanDyke Software
Posts: 54
The current allocation scheme is pretty much the same one we've had since 1.0.

Originally, there was a much lower limit on the number of scrollback lines. When we increased this limit it was based on customer feedback indicating memory usage wasn't an issue because of the amount of memory they had on their systems.

It is something we'd like to address in a future release, but we don't plan to change this for 5.0.

--Jeff
  #13  
Old 06-03-2005, 12:08 PM
habs's Avatar
habs habs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by toloughlin
Wow, I watched my memory usage go from 20MB@15000 buffer lines to 30MB@32000 buffer lines. Would that mean, at 500,000 lines, you'd be using about 400-500MB of RAM?
Are you people mad??

"640K of memory should be enough for anybody." -- Bill Gates.
  #14  
Old 06-03-2005, 12:49 PM
Killing Killing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpv
The current allocation scheme is pretty much the same one we've had since 1.0.

Originally, there was a much lower limit on the number of scrollback lines. When we increased this limit it was based on customer feedback indicating memory usage wasn't an issue because of the amount of memory they had on their systems.

It is something we'd like to address in a future release, but we don't plan to change this for 5.0.

--Jeff
Thats cool as far as Im conserned just a WIBNI, as u say RAM is cheap and I've never had a problem myself and I run with 20 or so 32k terminals regularly
There are a few cases where more than 32k ( significantly more ) would be useful so if thats something that can be quickly updated though that would be nice.
  #15  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:07 PM
roddie's Avatar
roddie roddie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
I hope this is the right place for this one - A small request that I suggested a year or two ago to a developer.

"Open Selection as URL" and it's smart whitespace handling is probably the prettiest feautre in *CRT, especially when opening multi-line URLs or worse, URLs that are in quoted emails.

That said, it would be nice to have access to those "fixed" URLs from the clipboard, as well. I'd guess it would be called "Copy Selection as URL" where the result would be left in the clipboard rather than opening a browser window.

This would be handy for emailing or saving URLs...
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:59 AM.


copyright 1995-2017 VanDyke Software, Inc.