VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT 5.1/SecureFX 3.1/VShell 2.6 Beta
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2005, 07:11 AM
michab michab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
SecureCRT - Changing Tabs more user-friendly - Suggestion

hi there,

the tabs are great, but my problem is to change them easily.
maybe you know Maxthon,
there you are able to switch between the tabs with Ctrl+TAB, by cursor
or by mouse-wheel, this is a great feature.

in an old version of SecureCRT i handled it with different windows,
where i changed them with a hotkey: ALT+W,Window-Number,
that was also a nice way, while using TABs, this is no longer possible.

so i please you to make changing the TABs more user-friendly.

thank you very much,
michab
  #2  
Old 06-13-2005, 11:24 AM
habs's Avatar
habs habs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 28
Already covered here!

Let's hope the SecureCRT team gets this feature implemented soon!
  #3  
Old 06-13-2005, 06:24 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by michab
hi there,

the tabs are great, but my problem is to change them easily.
maybe you know Maxthon,
there you are able to switch between the tabs with Ctrl+TAB, by cursor
or by mouse-wheel, this is a great feature.

in an old version of SecureCRT i handled it with different windows,
where i changed them with a hotkey: ALT+W,Window-Number,
that was also a nice way, while using TABs, this is no longer possible.

so i please you to make changing the TABs more user-friendly.

thank you very much,
michab
Thanks for posting. Currently, it's possible to switch tabs using Ctrl+Tab and Alt+<number>. Are you looking for additional support for tab navigation?

Maureen
  #4  
Old 07-05-2005, 02:49 AM
michab michab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
dear Maureen,

i know ALT+Number and Ctrl+Tab but in daily i have noticed, that these
hotkeys are not very user-friendly. in most cases i have more than 10 tabs open and guess you are always switching between a few of them, so your intention should be: how to switch between special tabs without mouse,
directly and without a lot keys ?

my suggestion is: (u have this in UltraEdit), Ctrl+Tab should switch only between the current window and the last window, that makes working easy.
if you need another window, you should go there by a different way.
i told you, Maxthon made it very good: when you press Ctrl+Tab, you get
a window with every Tab where you can choose with cursor or mouse-wheel.
another suggestion is: when you say, that we are able to switch with ALT+Number, what number does a window has, when i have 20 Tabs open ?
the time i need to count, to find the correct number, i am faster by moving the mouse, you understand my problem ?

what does ALT+Number help, if i want windows nummber 22 ?
i understand, that you intention is not to copy stuff from other programs,
but sometimes it is better NOT to reinvent, than using existing good solutions for little problems like this.

i recommend to take a look at Maxthons solution and try it on your own

best regards,
micha

Last edited by michab; 07-05-2005 at 02:51 AM.
  #5  
Old 07-05-2005, 09:40 AM
habs's Avatar
habs habs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 28
Maureen,

I second michab's request (it's what I wrote about in my thread). To see the power of CTRL-TAB, you can download Maxthon or the Opera web browsers, open up multiple tabs in those browsers, and then switch between them using CTRL-TAB. You'll see first-hand how useful this key combination is!

Despite the addition of tabs into SecureCRT 5, I find that I am unable to use this software (despite very much wanting to do so!) because of the lack of CTRL-TAB switching. The sooner this is implemented, the better SecureCRT will be!

Thanks again!
  #6  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:05 AM
gan's Avatar
gan gan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 86
I think the tabs is a great addition since version 4.x and even if there are other features that would be nice i find securecrt to be a great application for telnet and ssh. To say that i'm unable to use it because of some missing "nice to have" features would be an overstatement.

I do agree though that it would be nice when i press CTRL-TAB it should switch back to my previous tabs in the order i accessed them. That way i could easily switch between two or more tabs even if i have several open.

Also about the ALT-x feature where x is the number of the tab. Why not make it possible to use this feature with more then 10 tabs. Like when i want to access tab 15 i should be able to press ALT-15 and the tab will change after i release the ALT key. A small label could also popup on top of the tab to indicate the number of the tab when i press and hold the ALT key. That makes it easier when i got a lot of tabs open.


Cheers
  #7  
Old 07-05-2005, 12:35 PM
habs's Avatar
habs habs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by gan
I think the tabs is a great addition since version 4.x and even if there are other features that would be nice i find securecrt to be a great application for telnet and ssh. To say that i'm unable to use it because of some missing "nice to have" features would be an overstatement.
It's precisely because of the lack of CTRL-TAB switching that I cannot use SecureCRT 5. Having used Opera for nearly 6 years, I cannot get used to using any tab switching key combination other than CTRL-TAB. I tried it with SecureCRT 5, and I kept getting frustrated because I had to use a completely different method of navigating through the tabs.

Quote:
I do agree though that it would be nice when i press CTRL-TAB it should switch back to my previous tabs in the order i accessed them. That way i could easily switch between two or more tabs even if i have several open.
That's basically the reason behind us asking for CTRL-TAB switching!
  #8  
Old 07-05-2005, 03:53 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,534
Thanks for requests for Opera-like tab switching. This feature was requested during the beta cycle, but we didn't have the time to implement it. It's is under consideration for a future version of SecureCRT. This would most likely be an option, since some people may prefer the way tab switching currently works.

Maureen
  #9  
Old 07-06-2005, 04:06 AM
michab michab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
okay, so i hope to see this option in the next version ;-)

cu,
micha
  #10  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:42 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,534
An option to support Opera-like tab switching has been added to SecureCRT 5.2, which is in pre-beta testing. If you would like to try it, please send an e-mail to me at Maureen.Jett@vandyke.com.

Maureen
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 AM.


copyright 1995-2017 VanDyke Software, Inc.