Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2018, 06:18 AM
ChrisV ChrisV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 14
Problem with copy/paste on Linux

When I first started secureCRT (version 8.1.3) I was able to copy/paste just fine but after a while (not sure how many days or weeks this instance has been running for). When I copy I am getting the following on the window I originally started secureCRT from

QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner

Paste seems to be working fine in secureCRT as I am able to copy from a non-secureCRT window and paste inside a secureCRT window.

Any ideas or do I just need to restart secureCRT when I get into this condition?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2018, 08:06 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,850
Hi ChrisV,

By this:
Quote:
When I copy I am getting the following on the window I originally started secureCRT from
Are you saying you have cloned a session to a new window?

Please list the explicit steps to replicate the issue (if known).
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2018, 08:12 AM
ChrisV ChrisV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 14
What I mean by the original window is the the window running the bash shell that I executed secureCRT. I know at one point or another I had moved sessions from one secureCRT window to another (Send to new window).

There is no known reproduction. It is over time that I get into this condition.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2018, 08:27 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,850
Hi ChrisV,

Thanks for the clarification. With that x11 reference, I assume you have x11 forwarding enabled in the session, correct?

We do have one other report from a customer and that person verified new instances of SecureCRT or restarting SecureCRT corrects the behavior.

[Removed -- see now it's SecureCRT/Linux in subject line ... ]

If eligible, you might consider upgrading to v8.3.x.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730

Last edited by bgagnon; 03-01-2018 at 08:32 AM. Reason: Not on Windows
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2018, 12:07 PM
ChrisV ChrisV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 14
I am not using ssh so X11 forwarding is not applicable. It sounds like secureCRT is unable to send data to the linux clipboard. It is able to read it but not write to it.
I too can confirm that a new instance of secureCRT is able to write to the clipboard just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2018, 07:18 AM
ChrisV ChrisV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 14
I just got into this situation again but this time I noticed that I am getting the following each time I select data in a SecureCRT window

QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2018, 08:28 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,850
Hi ChrisV,

Have you upgraded?

Or is this still occurring in v8.1.3?

That particular error message is associated with the third party library we use to build SecureCRT/Linux. Version 8.3 uses a newer version of that library.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2018, 07:53 AM
vdsscrt938 vdsscrt938 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgagnon View Post

We do have one other report from a customer and that person verified new instances of SecureCRT or restarting SecureCRT corrects the behavior.
I may be that "other" person.

I've been living with this symptom for ~1.5 years, through various versions.

Latest securecrt version still results in this symptom,

8.5.1 (build 1764)


Happened this morning (again), during copy selection,

QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner
QXcbClipboard::setMimeData: Cannot set X11 selection owner


Following is what i got from support on qt versions used,

8.1.4 is using Qt 5.6.0.
8.3.2 is using Qt 5.6.2.
8.4 (pre-beta) is currently using Qt 5.9.2.

Obviously 8.4 was skipped.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2018, 08:10 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,850
Hi vdsscrt938,

Version 8.4 became 8.5. The current official release is v8.5.2.

From what I can see this is still an unresolved QT bug.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-03-2018, 07:40 AM
vdsscrt938 vdsscrt938 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Can this symptom be (ever) understood at its root cause, and fixed?




https://www.vandyke.com/aboutus/index.html

Core Product Principles
Software must be rock solid and easy to configure

Stability and usability are the core strengths of our applications
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-03-2018, 07:41 AM
vdsscrt938 vdsscrt938 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgagnon View Post
Hi vdsscrt938,

From what I can see this is still an unresolved QT bug.
Can you share where you are seeing above information?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-03-2018, 01:06 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,850
Hi vdsscrt938,

Have you tried a v8.6 build?

If not, would you contact us via email (support@vandyke.com) and let us know the email address of your download account so we can make that available to you. Please include "Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #13033" in the subject line.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-03-2018, 01:22 PM
vdsscrt938 vdsscrt938 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgagnon View Post
Hi vdsscrt938,

Have you tried a v8.6 build?
What version of qt is linked in?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-03-2018, 01:44 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,850
Hi vdsscrt938,

I believe it's 5.12 but I am in communication with the SecureCRT product director about this case specifically, so please email us as requested in the last post.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-07-2019, 11:29 AM
alexj212 alexj212 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
I am running SecureCRT 8.5.2 build 1799. For a while I am also suffering copy paste issues. Sometimes I highlight text and it unselects or jumps around. Its not smooth. I am running Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS.

If there is any other info you need let me know. Any solutions I would be glad to try. Thanks

Alex
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 PM.