Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > File Transfer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2018, 10:57 AM
ugpvoltage ugpvoltage is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
How to schedule vcp command

Hi
I have a vcp command that retrieves a file correctly.
Now I need to schedule it to run periodically.
How to do that? Can we use Windows scheduler?
thanks
Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2018, 11:12 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,653
Hi Patrick,

Yes, you can use Windows Task Scheduler. You may need to tweak your command-line depending on how the task runs (under what user context).

With sensitive data redacted, what is the vcp command-line you are using?

Have you also tested it being run as the user it will run as a scheduled task?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2018, 11:37 AM
ugpvoltage ugpvoltage is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Here is a similar vcp command I run in the cmd window:

vcp --log C:\Temp\VCPLog.txt -v --pw ####### --accepthostkeys captkirk@blahblah.org:"/folder1/klingon.pdf" C:\Temp

How do I turn that into a task that can be scheduled?
thanks

Last edited by bgagnon; 12-10-2018 at 11:39 AM. Reason: PW exposed
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2018, 11:45 AM
ugpvoltage ugpvoltage is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
The pw wasn't exposed. All the info in there was false.
Including the domain which you changed again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2018, 12:06 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,653
Hi Patrick,

That's fine. I would rather err on the side of caution.

Task Scheduler is not our product so I can't really guide you on that. Basically vcp is the program and everything that comes after are arguments. You probably want to include the fully-qualified path to vcp in the "Start in" option in the scheduler. I am sure there are many helpful posts on the internet regarding using Microsoft's Task Scheduler.

With respect to vcp though, it is good that you are including logging in the command-line, because that might be needed for troubleshooting. If the vcp operation fails, you should send the log to support@vandyke.com and include "Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #13330".
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2018, 12:18 PM
ugpvoltage ugpvoltage is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
It doesn't have to be Windows scheduler.
I don't know how to make vcp commands accessible to the windows scheduler.
Does vcp have it's own way of automating itself?
Do you guys have a supported method for scheduling?
Should vcp be able to handle running every so often?

thanks for any help!
Pat
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2018, 12:22 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,653
Pat,
Quote:
It doesn't have to be Windows scheduler.
I don't know how to make vcp commands accessible to the windows scheduler.
Please send email per my prior post.


Quote:
Does vcp have it's own way of automating itself?
No

Quote:
Do you guys have a supported method for scheduling?
Windows Task Scheduler

Quote:
Should vcp be able to handle running every so often?
Yes. VCP is designed to run and then close the process.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2018, 12:30 PM
ugpvoltage ugpvoltage is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
It said to send the log if there were problems to review the error msgs.
There are no errors. The single vcp cmd completes successfully.
The vcp log is long and filled with sensitive info.
You still need to look at the log to instruct how to automate vcp?
Just want to verify.
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2018, 12:31 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,653
Hi Pat,

No, we don't need to see a log if it's working. Congrats, success!

Quote:
You still need to look at the log to instruct how to automate vcp?
I don't know what you mean by that. You've just automated the task. Setting some sort of repeat interval in Task Scheduler is probably the last step you need
to do.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730

Last edited by bgagnon; 12-10-2018 at 12:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2018, 12:39 PM
ugpvoltage ugpvoltage is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
I think we are not understanding each other!
And I'm not understanding your reply:
"I don't know what you mean by that. You've just automated the task. Setting some sort of repeat interval in Task Scheduler is probably the last step you need to do."

I type cmd and it brings up the command window where I type in that vcp cmd. You say that I've 'just automated the task'.
How is typing it in a cmd window manually and running it there once constitute 'just automated the task'?..
THAT'S what I'm not understanding!

thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-10-2018, 12:43 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,653
Pat,

Task Scheduler is a program that Microsoft includes on all its operating systems.

It is not a product of VanDyke Software. If you contact me as I have requested, I will attempt to walk you through it more thoroughly.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-2018, 12:50 PM
ugpvoltage ugpvoltage is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
I just sent you an email.
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-10-2018, 02:45 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugpvoltage View Post
I don't know how to make vcp commands accessible to the windows scheduler.
For those in the forum community struggling with the Windows Task scheduler or otherwise unfamiliar with how to map a working command line (that you've tested and verified from within a CMD.exe window) into a Windows Scheduled Task, here's a primer:
  1. Create a Task in the Windows Task Scheduler
  2. Click on the Actions tab, then press the New... button to add a "New Action"
  3. In the New Action window, set the action to Start a program
  4. Press the Browse... button and browse to the location where vcp.exe is installed on your system. vcp.exe is the program that the scheduled task will be running.
  5. Transfer the rest of the options and arguments from the CMD command line that you've verified into the Add arguments (optional) field.


--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: http://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 AM.