Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Scripting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2011, 06:30 AM
armanrivard armanrivard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Configuration Folder variable

I'm using a Logon script I setup in session options:
F:\VPN\SecureCRT\scripts\login.vbs

I would like to leverage the GLOBAL 'Configuration folder' info if I can:
$config_folder\VPN\SecureCRT\scripts\login.vbs


Is there I way?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2011, 11:46 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi armanrivard,

Thanks for the question. In SecureCRT 6.6.1, you can accomplish your goal. It is important to note that you will need to use the correct syntax for environment variables. In Windows this is %variable%. You could set a Global or User environment variable with a name of "Config", and then you could access this variable by adding %Config% in the Configuration folder section of the General category of the Global Options Dialog.

Does this help you accomplish your goal?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2011, 12:41 PM
armanrivard armanrivard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Thsnk you for the reply. But rather than having users set ENV vars I am looking to leverage something that is already being set during installation.

In your Global Options dialog, the user is already setting the 'Configuration folder' to f:\VPN\mythings

Now in the sessions dialog I would like to use that setting to find the script files.

'Configuration folder'/myscripts/foo.vbs

I have lots of logon scripts and I dont want to give them full paths in the session dialog. It would be nice if I could use the Config folder data to find the scripts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rtb
Hi armanrivard,

Thanks for the question. In SecureCRT 6.6.1, you can accomplish your goal. It is important to note that you will need to use the correct syntax for environment variables. In Windows this is %variable%. You could set a Global or User environment variable with a name of "Config", and then you could access this variable by adding %Config% in the Configuration folder section of the General category of the Global Options Dialog.

Does this help you accomplish your goal?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2011, 01:28 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi armanrivard,

Thanks for the clarification of what you want. I have created a feature request in our SecureCRT development database to add the ability to use a "configuration folder" variable in the logon script path in SecureCRT. Should a future release of SecureCRT have this capability, we will post to this forum thread.

If you would like to be notified directly, please complete and submit the form at the following location:
Submit Feature Request
In the meantime, you should be able to accomplish this goal using an environment variable.

Are you trying to resolve a specific problem by requesting this capability?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2011, 02:56 PM
armanrivard armanrivard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Excellent. I will be watching for the feature. Until then I will add an env that does the same.

My original issue:

I setup all of the secureCRT scripts and connections on an external drive on my local machine. I currently have more than 50 connections. Each connection runs a login script. Each login script location is setup in the session/options area and points to my local disk: v:/VPN/secureCRT/scripts/london.vbs

Once I have all of my connections automated I give the folder to other secureCRT users.

They drop the folder on an appropriate local drive and set the global 'Configuration folder' to that drive. So far so good.

But when the script tries to run it doesn't find my path. It's not possible for me to emulate my config for every user. But I can maintain the same directory structure on each system. if the v: could be replaced by the 'Configuration folder' it would all just fall into place.

Thank you for your efforts!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2011, 04:32 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi armanrivard,

You are welcome. Thanks for letting me know what the original issue was. Based on this information, I think that the feature request is the best method to accomplish your goal. I would use the environment variables for now, though, because I can't say that this feature will be implemented any time in the near future.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2011, 05:25 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi All,

We have a new pre-release SecureCRT build that has the ability to use a variable to substitute the configuration folder location. If anyone would like to test this new build, please send a message to support@vandyke.com with a subject of Attn: Todd - Substitute configuration folder location.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2013, 07:16 AM
bkraptor bkraptor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Would it be possible to share the newly-implemented solution for this particular problem?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2013, 07:36 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi bkraptor,

This feature is available in the current official release of SecureCRT which is 7.1.1 at this point in time. You can download the current official release of SecureCRT from the following location:
http://www.vandyke.com/download/securecrt/download.html
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2013, 08:03 AM
bkraptor bkraptor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
I can not see any change in the way you can configure the logon script path. Is there a variable that you can reference to substitute for the absolute SecureCRT path?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-05-2013, 08:11 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi bkraptor,

You can use the "%C" substitution variable in the path of the logon script. For example:
%C\Scripts\LogonScript.vbs
Does this help?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-05-2013, 08:14 AM
bkraptor bkraptor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Yes, this works. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-05-2013, 09:19 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
You are welcome bkraptor. Thanks for the confirmation.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-20-2016, 02:13 PM
vysh vysh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtb View Post
Hi bkraptor,

You can use the "%C" substitution variable in the path of the logon script. For example:
%C\Scripts\LogonScript.vbs
Does this help?
Hm, apparently this is not working in SecureCRT 8.0 for me.

Here's what I get instead:

Am I doing something wrong? %C is for the configuration folder, right?
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2016-04-20 23.12.04.png (6.3 KB, 169 views)

Last edited by vysh; 04-20-2016 at 02:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-20-2016, 03:21 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 877
I've verified that this (%C as a substitution for Configuration folder) works for me in SecureCRT 8.0. I've tried 6 minus 3 ways from Sunday to get it to fail, all my failure attempts have been successes using %C as it's correctly substituted for the configuration folder for SecureCRT (as long as I'm using a version of SecureCRT 7.0 and newer).

I'm running on Windows 10, 64-bit.

What OS are you running on?


--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: http://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:33 AM.