Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2019, 02:07 PM
mschaafs mschaafs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 26
Question Screen Scrolling and Menu Issues

Hello and good day!

I have been having some issues with the screen settings and behavior. First, I was having an issue with the screen jumping to the bottom every time I hit enter or when I selected menu options provided by a work server. When I adjusted the number of rows down to 50, it stopped doing that, but now that menu, which used to clear the viewport and have a new option upon selecting items is now just stacking... not clearing on options, but just appending to the bottom causing problems that is irritating my users a lot and causing problems in my script.

My script pulls the screen content using the crt.Screen.get(0,1, CurrentRow,5000), but with it stacking vs. clearing I am getting multiple menu options. It just started doing that, and I am not sure why.

Please advise? Thank you for your time and insight!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2019, 02:46 PM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 595
Hi mschaafs,

I'm sorry to hear you're having trouble. It sounds like there may be some configuration options that help get you the behavior you're looking for.

The first thing I would suggest is disabling the Scroll to bottom on keypress option. To do this navigate to:
Options > Session Options > Terminal
Does reverting to your previous settings, and disabling this option provide better behavior?

If not, it is likely that I will need to review a Raw Log of the connection to get a better idea of what is happening.

PLEASE DO NOT POST LOGS IN THE FORUMS!

To create this log:
  1. Close all open sessions
  2. From the main File menu choose Raw Log Session
  3. Select a file name/location. I suggest SCRTLog.txt on the Desktop
  4. Connect to your session

After the session has displayed the issue, please email the resulting log file as an attachment to Support@VanDyke.com with "Attn: Eric Forum Post 13354" in the subject line.
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2019, 04:07 PM
mschaafs mschaafs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 26
Unhappy

None of those Scroll to options are checked. I am not sure I can provide you any log files for this because of the security of our system... but here is an idea of what it is doing now...

Screen 1:
**************************************
Menu A
1) OptionA1 2) OptionA2

Please select> _





**************************************

It used to do this after making a selection:
Screen 2 (before):
**************************************
Menu B
1) OptionB1 2) OptionB2

Please select> _





**************************************

But now it is doing this:
Screen 2 (now):
**************************************
Menu A
1) OptionA1 2) OptionA2

Please select> 2

Menu B
1) OptionB1 2) OptionB2

Please select> _

**************************************

Not clearing the menu, but just adding it. And I just checked... this is not happening on everyone's rig... just mine, which makes it likely a setting with my machine, or a version issue as I recently upgraded from 8.3.x to 8.5.2

Last edited by mschaafs; 01-11-2019 at 04:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2019, 05:03 PM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 595
Hi mschaafs,

Without being able to review additional information such as logs and screenshots it will be exceptionally difficult for me to accurately diagnose what the issue may be.

Without additional information, and without knowing what changes were made to the SecureCRT configuration, the best bet may be to simply "export" a working configuration, then "import" it into your SecureCRT installation.

To locate the session configuration file navigate to:
Options > Global Options > Configuration Paths
Take note of the location of the Config folder, navigate to this location using File Explorer. Inside this folder you will find a folder named Sessions. The Sessions folder contains the configuration files for your sessions.

You will want to copy a known working configuration file and paste it into your sessions folder. After restarting SecureCRT you should find this session available for use.

Does using this copied sessions work as expected?
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2019, 08:50 AM
mschaafs mschaafs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 26
Talking Emulation Terminal

Hey Eric,

Thank you for your reply. We solved it actually... it was the Emulation Terminal setting, which was set to "Linux", changing it to "VT100" solved the behavior issue. Thank you for your time and hopefully this will help someone else!

Best regards.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-15-2019, 09:24 AM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 595
mschaafs,

I'm glad to hear you're back up and running, thanks for the update.

Have a great rest of the day.
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
jumping , menus , screen->get , upgrade , viewport


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.