Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2019, 02:09 AM
mortensi mortensi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Window/Title bar

I like to specify the name of the window (shorter than user@host - they're not so informative). I found the Session Options -> Terminal -> Appearance -> Window -> Title bar setting. This worked fine.

Then I changed the background color for a tab group (changed many session at the same time).

Then the titles was lost (reverted back to default), but in the session options the check-box was stilled checked and the title still in place. So it almost worked to do a "mass-change" but to keep the fields which is specific to each session. I report this a sort of bug, although I understand that it is perhaps outside of scope. If it can be fixed later, it would be an improvement to the product.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2019, 07:45 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,902
Hi mortensi,

What version of SecureCRT is installed?

Please list the explicit steps to replicate the issue.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2019, 09:04 AM
cyberkidz cyberkidz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
I'm also experiencing the same issues on a version 8.5.2 (x64 build 1799) running on Windows 10 x64 version.

I was able to define the Title Bar and saved session.
Then, close the session and re-open the session.
I was able to see the title bar which it was specified.
And then, modified some other settings within the session options and then, closed and re-open the session.
However, the Title Bar has gone back to the default settings even though the check box and title bar characters are still intact in the session options.

Since then, I've tried to remove and type it again and uncheck and recheck and save the sessions in between and closed and re-open.

Whatever I have tried to bring the Title Bar again, none of that worked.

I've also checked the session INI file and it's all there and active.
D:"Display Tab"=00000001
S:"Display Tab String"=Session Name

What can we do to fix this problem/bug?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2019, 09:25 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,902
Hi cyberkidz,

At this point, I still do not know what Mortensi's issue is.

I also do not have clear steps to replicate.

Where are you defining "Title bar"?

Because the INI options you have listed are related to the tab caption, not the title bar and if "Title bar" has been configured that will take precedence. As a note, there's about 5 different ways to change tab caption. Some of them are permanent and some are not.

What is your goal?

Here's what I did to test if Title bar changes are saved

In the Terminal / Appearance / Window category of Session Options, I set Title bar to This Is Title Bar. Both tab caption and title bar reflected that name. I then closed my session, when I reopened it both title bar/tab caption *still* reflect that name.

Please list your explicit steps and what the results are that you think are a bug.

One configuration option you may be overlooking that dynamically will change your tab caption is escape sequences sent by the remote. If that is what is happening and what is undesirable behavior, then enable the Ignore window title change requests option in the Terminal / Emulation / Advanced category of Session Options.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2019, 10:03 AM
cyberkidz cyberkidz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Hi Brenda!

Thank you so much for your support and guidance!
It appears that when I enable the "Ignore window title change requests option", the Title Bar stayed as I specified and expected!

It's working fine for me! Now I can differentiate between the tab to determine which session I'm on in friendly name.

Thank you again!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2019, 10:33 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,902
Hi cyberkidz,

I am glad to hear enabling the option did the trick for you.

I have added this thread to a feature request in our product enhancement database to enable Ignore window title change requests option by default. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #13441" in the subject line or use this form from the support page of our website.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
title mass-change


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 PM.