Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2019, 01:32 PM
exyl3d exyl3d is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Telnet handler on Chrome is lost

I am running Mojave 10.14.3 and SecureCRT 8.5.3, when I first installed it, SecureCRT prompted to become the default telnet handler. This worked fine for months, until one day it simply stopped working, I checked the forums and tried everything until I installed iTerm, it did the same prompt and at that point, SecureCRT requested to become default again when I rebooted.
Today the issue has reappeared and I feel pretty frustated because this has happened on several version of Mac and SecureCRT as well.

It seems that when Chrome upgrades it loses the handler it had and won't restore it again, with Firefox I can select the handler everytime, but Chrome won't.

Thanks in advance for your support.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2019, 05:07 PM
berdmann berdmann is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 235
Hi exyl3d,

Firefox is a red herring because it keeps its own URL Schema to App Handler mappings, rather than using the OS-mapped handlers.

Logically, it would seem that if the only remaining variable is a newer version of Chrome, that perhaps Chrome is causing the problem -- after all, SecureCRT is happily running unaware of Chrome being updated. However, sometimes reality can defy logic

If you set iTerm as the default telnet handler, and then upgrade Chrome, does Chrome continue to use iTerm as the default telnet handler without interruption, or do you have to do the same thing with iTerm as with SecureCRT?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brittney

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2019, 01:20 PM
exyl3d exyl3d is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by berdmann View Post
Hi exyl3d,

Firefox is a red herring because it keeps its own URL Schema to App Handler mappings, rather than using the OS-mapped handlers.

Logically, it would seem that if the only remaining variable is a newer version of Chrome, that perhaps Chrome is causing the problem -- after all, SecureCRT is happily running unaware of Chrome being updated. However, sometimes reality can defy logic

If you set iTerm as the default telnet handler, and then upgrade Chrome, does Chrome continue to use iTerm as the default telnet handler without interruption, or do you have to do the same thing with iTerm as with SecureCRT?
I already set iTerm to default, but is still not choosing it either, so at this point it tries to use command telnet instead of trying to use an application.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2019, 03:34 PM
berdmann berdmann is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 235
Hi exyl3d,

If you are also experiencing the behavior with iTerm, then the issue is not a bug in SecureCRT.

I recommend reaching out to Google or Apple support to continue troubleshooting why the default handler is being reset every time that you upgrade Google Chrome.

Have a great day!
__________________
Thanks,
--Brittney

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:17 PM.