Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2018, 02:57 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Feature request: Exclude chars from activity icon

Hi,

Copying software or other large files into a switch/router can sometimes take quite some time.
And I don't care to look at the transfer, but I would like to know when the transfer is finished (or failed).

So if there was an configurable option to exclude/except different characters triggering the activity-icon for the tab, that would be excellent

Example:
Being able to exclude (more than one) exclamation mark (in sequence), the activity light would only trigger at the end of the transfer. That would save me from checking periodically during the 17+ minutes this transfer lasted.

boo-jakhelln-sw#copy http://172.29.0.21/ios/Switch/Cataly...E.152-2.E8.bin flash:
Destination filename [cat3k_caa-universalk9.SPA.03.06.08.E.152-2.E8.bin]?
Accessing http://172.29.0.21/ios/Switch/Cataly...E.152-2.E8.bin...
Loading http://172.29.0.21/ios/Switch/Cataly...E.152-2.E8.bin !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
305292424 bytes copied in 1054.650 secs (289473 bytes/sec)
boo-jakhelln-sw#


Keep up the good work

Regards,
Tommy Vindvik

Last edited by 2mmy; 06-15-2018 at 03:01 AM. Reason: Typos :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2018, 08:14 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi Tommy,

I have added this thread to a feature request in our product enhancement database for the ability to configure tab status indicators to ignore a portion of the terminal. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #13145" in the subject line or use this form from the support page of our website.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2018, 08:18 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Brenda

Thank you so very much

Enjoy our weekend

Best regards,
Tommy Vindvik
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2018, 10:36 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi Tommy,

In the meantime, our script guru thought this sounded like a situation where a script could help out customers in a similar situation.

See attached example script.
Attached Files
File Type: txt WaitForCiscoFileTransferToComplete.py.txt (2.1 KB, 377 views)
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2018, 12:21 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Brenda,

I quite like that script
And it *almost* meet my needs, and even surpasses it by counting packets and flashing the tab when transfer is finished.
You really have a scripting guru

But the tab status indicator still turns blue while the transfer is running. I'm not a scripting guru, but I can't see any way to control the status indicator within the tab object?

And with like 15-20 tab's open at any time, all I can see of each tab is the indicator and 2 chars. So the script at least give me the chance to see if the chars are a number (still transfering) or blinking "Tr.." when the transfer is finished.

So even if this give me kind of what I requested, checking the tab caption is not quite as quick and intuitive as just checking the tab status indicator colour.
And of cause I must remember to start the script each time, not just tweak/turn on a global setting.

I rate it 9 out of 10

Best regards,
Tommy Vindvik

Last edited by 2mmy; 06-18-2018 at 12:27 AM. Reason: Clarify
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-19-2018, 01:08 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi Tommy,

Sorry for the misunderstanding, the script was not designed to alter the tab status indicator. It was intended as a workaround, but thanks for the 9/10. I passed that along to the script author.

By the way, what do you use as the tab status indicator? (Global Options -> Terminal / Tabs/Tiling category). Is it icons? Background colors? Or rectangles?

There is not presently a way to control the tab status indicator via a script.

I have added this thread to a feature request in our product enhancement database for the ability to change tab color/status indicator (icon) from a script. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #13145" in the subject line or use this form from the support page of our website.

You mentioned the captions being truncated. Are you opening tabs in tab groups? Or is just the overall width of the application is such that the 15-20 tab captions have to be truncated?

Quote:
And of cause I must remember to start the script.
You could map it to a button on the button bar, or even configure it as the Logon script (Connection / Logon Actions category of Session Options).

If a mapped button, you could even add the arguments such as the command to run, etc.

See our YouTube video about Button Bar here.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2018, 01:10 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Brenda,

Quote:
By the way, what do you use as the tab status indicator? (Global Options -> Terminal / Tabs/Tiling category). Is it icons? Background colors? Or rectangles?
Icons.

Quote:
You mentioned the captions being truncated. Are you opening tabs in tab groups? Or is just the overall width of the application is such that the 15-20 tab captions have to be truncated?
It's the overall width of the application. Tab groups are great, but it's not always the most logical way to organize my work. See also my feature request "Feature Request - Forum Thread #12629"

And I use the button bar for the script
Good idea to run it as a login script, I will set that up for my next upgrade round in the fall.
Hopefully by then I could set a global option for this feature request instead?


Best regards
Tommy Vindvik
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2019, 01:37 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Brenda,

Any info you are able to share about this feature request?

And another thing, not sure if it's a bug or function as designed in the "WaitForCiscoFileTransferToComplete.py":

If enough tabs are open not fit in window, click left/right on the tab line would not work because the tabs with script running would "take focus" in the tab-line. So the tab line would be focused to show the tabs with script running for every change in tab title.

Best regards
Tommy V
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2019, 07:29 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi Tommy,
Quote:
Any info you are able to share about this feature request?
Eric will respond to that in that thread.

As for your other inquiry, I am not sure I understand the problem you are trying to solve.

I would have to check with the script author to be sure, but considering the script is titled "WaitFor" I would expect the tab(s) where file transfers are occurring to need to have the focus, yes.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2019, 08:11 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Brenda,

You understood just fine

Since the script needs focus, my original feature request is still needed

Best regards
Tommy V
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-15-2019, 08:31 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Tommy,

I am confused since you have three feature requests that have been referenced in this thread.

Are you referring to this one?

If so, I have no update for you. It is still an open feature request. As promised, we will post here if there is additional news about it (or any of the feature requests in the forums).

Feature requests are typically prioritized based on a number of factors including, but not limited to, the number of requests and the amount of implementation work required.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-15-2019, 08:44 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Feature request #13145 is the right one, yes.

Thanks for the update

Mvh
Tommy V
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 PM.