Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Secure Shell

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 08-20-2014, 01:52 PM
SimonHF SimonHF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Here are the results as requested:

Terminal:

Simons-MacBook-Pro:~ simon$ echo $SHELL
/bin/bash

SecureCRT:

Simons-MacBook-Pro:~ simon$ echo $SHELL
/bin/bash

"ctrl-c" button:

Same results as pressing ctrl-c, i.e. nothing happens :-(

What now?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-20-2014, 04:07 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi SimonHF,

My mistake. You need to map the button to send a string. Here are the steps to map a button to send a string:
  1. Right-click on a blank space on the Button Bar and select New Button... from the context menu
  2. Enter the string to send in the Send String input box
  3. Provide a label for the button if desired
The string to map is \003.

Does this work?

If not, then please post output of following command for SecureCRT and Terminal:
stty -a
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-20-2014, 04:13 PM
SimonHF SimonHF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Thanks.

Okay. So the second button mechanism does cause the ctrl-c to be handled as expected when the button is pressed.

Although this worked, here is the stty -a output anyway:

speed 9600 baud; 24 rows; 80 columns;
lflags: icanon isig iexten echo echoe -echok echoke -echonl echoctl
-echoprt -altwerase -noflsh -tostop -flusho pendin -nokerninfo
-extproc
iflags: -istrip icrnl -inlcr -igncr ixon -ixoff ixany imaxbel -iutf8
-ignbrk brkint -inpck -ignpar -parmrk
oflags: opost onlcr -oxtabs -onocr -onlret
cflags: cread cs8 -parenb -parodd hupcl -clocal -cstopb -crtscts -dsrflow
-dtrflow -mdmbuf
cchars: discard = ^O; dsusp = ^Y; eof = ^D; eol = <undef>;
eol2 = <undef>; erase = ^?; intr = ^C; kill = ^U; lnext = ^V;
min = 1; quit = ^\; reprint = ^R; start = ^Q; status = ^T;
stop = ^S; susp = ^Z; time = 0; werase = ^W;

Now what can I do to get the real ctrl-c working?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-20-2014, 04:24 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi SimonHF,

Is it possible that you have configured your environment to handle the control key differently when SecureCRT is running?

I would like to see what happens if you try and map control+C in SecureCRT. Here are the instructions to map a key to send a string:
  1. Press the Map a Key... button in the Terminal / Emulation / Mapped Keys category of the Session Options dialog.
  2. Press the key to map.
  3. Enter \003 in the Send String input box.
Also, would you post a screenshot of the Map Selected Key dialog?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730

Last edited by rtb; 08-20-2014 at 04:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-20-2014, 04:46 PM
SimonHF SimonHF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
I'm not sure how I could have configured the environment to make SecureCRT handle ctrl-c differently accidentally and without knowing. SecureCRT is literally a brand new install on a brand new Macbook Pro, and there's a bunch of other brand new software installed which all seems to be working perfectly...

Okay. So I opened a local shell, mapped the key in the session options, and ctrl-c then worked as expected.

I took a screen shot but I cannot figure out how to attach it to this message. There's an attach option but it wants an http URL but my screen shot is on my desktop... how to attach?

So what is going on to make my copy of SecureCRT behave like this?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-20-2014, 04:58 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi SimonHF,

When composing a response, there is a paper-clip icon. Pressing this icon will display a dialog that will let you browse to a local file system location (see attached graphic).

Does this help you successfully upload the screenshot of the dialog?

What keyboard layout are you using?

What version of SecureCRT are you using?

What version of Mac OS X are you using?
Attached Images
File Type: png ForumAttachUpoad.png (50.7 KB, 172 views)
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730

Last edited by rtb; 08-20-2014 at 05:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-20-2014, 05:19 PM
SimonHF SimonHF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Sorry that I missed the paper clip... it's attached to this comment now.

What keyboard layout are you using? Dvorak

What version of SecureCRT are you using? Version 7.2.5 (build 550)

What version of Mac OS X are you using? OS X Version 10.9.4
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2014-08-20 at 2.47.12 PM.png (69.0 KB, 150 views)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-20-2014, 06:08 PM
SimonHF SimonHF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Okay. So here is a bizarre thing which I didn't know before. Apparently Mac is not just Dvorak but Dvorak plus qwerty!!! [1] This means that typing is Dvorak but control keys are qwerty! Strangely though most apps use control qwerty but some don't, like terminal. This also means that control-c *does* work in SecureCRT but it's qwerty ctrl-c and not dvorak ctrl-c, even though terminal is dvorak ctrl-c... I know bizarre... unfortunately it gets even more confusing with copy and paste which some apps using dvorak and some using qwerty :-( I'm not sure what the best way is to get around this... or whether there's a better way to configure the Mac into dvorak / control dvorak mode somehow... maybe you know?

[1] http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8...ng-for-windows
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-21-2014, 10:26 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi SimonHF,

I am not sure that I understand your quandary. Perhaps because I don't use Dvorak I don't really know what one that does use Dvorak expects.

What is the exact name of the keyboard layout that you were using when you tried to map "control"+C in the screenshot that you posted?

What is the physical key that was pressed when you were mapping "control"+C?

Are you trying to use the physical "C" key or are you trying to use the Dvorak "C" key when trying to break/interrupt a remote/local shell process?

What "C" would be your preferred option to break/interrupt a remote/local shell process?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-21-2014, 03:52 PM
SimonHF SimonHF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
So apparently on OSX there are two different dvorak keyboards; 'dvorak' and 'dvorak + qwerty'. I didn't even know that the last one existed. When I first booted the Macbook then I just selected dvorak and it obviously choose 'dvorak + qwerty' without my knowing. This has led to all the problems.

In my last message (above), when I speak of qwerty ctrl-c then I mean ctrl-physical-c, and when I speak of dvorak ctrl-c then I mean ctrl-physical-i because in dvorak you press the physical i key to get c.

So what is 'dvorak + qwerty'? It's a ridiculous mode whereby the keyboard is dvorak unless you are using a two key combination, like ctrl-c. Even worse, some apps seem to use the qwerty part of the mode, and some don't... which is why ctrl-physical-i appears to work in terminal even when the keyboard is 'dvorak + qwerty' :-(

The solution? Configure OS X to use just a dvorak keyboard and not the 'dvorak + qwerty' keyboard.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-21-2014, 04:58 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi SimonHF,

Thanks for the update. My confusion stemmed from not knowing that you had changed the keyboard layout and then not knowing what version of Dvorak you wanted to use.

I tested both Dvorak keyboards, and SecureCRT will work with either. It is just necessary to use the correct key.

I can see how the Dvorak+Qwerty mode on Mac OS X would confuse someone that used Dvorak on another OS. I am glad that you now have a solution.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-26-2014, 12:43 AM
SimonHF SimonHF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Okay. So now I'm back to the original problem of trying to get keys like home, end, and ctrl arrow working.

I have managed to get home and end working by clicking on Options, Session Options, Mapped Keys, Map a Key, pressing home, entering \033[H. And end works with \033[F.

However, when doing similar instructions for ctrl-left-arrow then mysteriously the Map a Key dialog shows that the mapped key is called "NUMLOCK"?! When I actually press the numlock key then Map a Key says that I have pressed 0x100000B?! Anyway, with ctrl-left-arrow mapped then nothing ever happens :-( Even if I set it to 'foo' then no foo appears when I press ctrl-left-arrow.

How to make this work?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-26-2014, 12:35 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi SimonHF,

I thought that things had been resolved. Is this a change in behavior since the 21st of August?

If so, what changed between the 21st and today?

What keyboard layout are you using?

What operating system are you using where you see this issue?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.