Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2014, 09:29 AM
cooler0918 cooler0918 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Permissions warning when securecrt opens

Every time the app is launched I get a permissions warning asking to changes permissions for others in /cores. I can't find that folder.

The permissions on the "/cores" directory need to be changed to include write permission for "other".

Please execute (or ask an admin to execute) the following from a terminal window:

sudo chmod o+w /cores

You can change this behavior by setting the "Create Core Files" parameter in your "Global.ini" to 0.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2014, 10:13 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi cooler0918,

Thanks for the post. If you create the folder and apply the appropriate permissions, does the error go away?

If you don't want to create the directory, would you try and configure the Global.ini file as indicated?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2014, 07:35 AM
cooler0918 cooler0918 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
I wouldn't mind creating the directory and setting permission. I am just don't know where on a mac.
  1. Would it be off the root
  2. Off my user directory
  3. Inside the package

As far as the Global.ini, again I don't know where to find it on the mac or where to create it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:04 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
Hi cooler0918,

Thanks for the update.
Quote:
I wouldn't mind creating the directory and setting permission. I am just don't know where on a mac.
In the UNIX world (Mac OS X underpinnings) "/" is root, so "/cores" would be a directory that exists at root. It is an absolute path.
Quote:
As far as the Global.ini, again I don't know where to find it on the mac or where to create it.
The Global.ini file is located in the configuration folder.

In SecureCRT 7.1 and older, the configuration folder path can be found in the General category of the Global Options dialog.

In SecureCRT 7.2 the configuration folder path is located in the General / Configuration Paths category of the Global Options dialog.

Does this help to answer your questions and by extension eliminate the dialog?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:21 AM
cooler0918 cooler0918 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Thank you, creating the directory worked.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:34 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,307
You are welcome cooler0918. I am glad to hear that this issue is resolved.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2017, 01:30 PM
carlos carlos is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
I can not find that configuration folder. Help me, please.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2017, 01:36 PM
carlos carlos is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Configuration folder can not find

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtb View Post
Hi cooler0918,

Thanks for the update.

In the UNIX world (Mac OS X underpinnings) "/" is root, so "/cores" would be a directory that exists at root. It is an absolute path.

The Global.ini file is located in the configuration folder.

In SecureCRT 7.1 and older, the configuration folder path can be found in the General category of the Global Options dialog.

In SecureCRT 7.2 the configuration folder path is located in the General / Configuration Paths category of the Global Options dialog.

Does this help to answer your questions and by extension eliminate the dialog?
I can't find this folder.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2017, 01:49 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,532
Hi Carlos,

What version of SecureCRT is installed?

On what specific OS?

Please clarify:

You have located the info in SecureCRT, but cannot find the location where the config folder is supposed to be?

OR:

You cannot find where the config folder info is in SecureCRT?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-13-2017, 10:05 AM
obiwog obiwog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Getting same permission error

Hello,

I am also getting the dialog about permissions on the /cores directory when launching SecureCRT.

I am running SecureCRT v8.3.1 (Build 1537) on macOS High Sierra 10.13.2.
  • I have tried changing the Global.ini by setting the line D:"Create Core Files"=00000000
  • I have tried creating the directory (didn't originally exist) and setting the file permissions as directed
  • I have even tried trashing my config folder in case it was a left-over from a previous version

None of these change have worked.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-13-2017, 11:09 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,532
Hi obiwog,

The original post in this thread is from so long ago, I don't think it's relevant.

Would you attach a screenshot of the dialog?

So you get that dialog as soon as SecureCRT is launched?

Is SecureCRT crashing? If not, do you have an auto session configured?

I have not heard of this issue occurring and I'm unable to replicate it so far.

Quote:
* I have tried creating the directory (didn't originally exist) and setting the file permissions as directed
I have heard the /cores directory won't exist until something crashes, so it's good that it did not exist.

Quote:
* I have even tried trashing my config folder in case it was a left-over from a previous version
You are referring to just deleting the files/folders found in the directory that is pointed to in the General / Configuration Paths category of Global Options, correct?

So there was a prior version installed? What version was it?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-02-2018, 01:38 PM
obiwog obiwog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Hello,

Here is the dialog that appears at launch:



The app comes up normally after clicking the OK button on the error dialog. I do not have an auto session configured.

Previously, I had version 7.3.2 (? not sure about the minor version and patch numbers) installed; I removed that an installed the current version (v8.3.1).

That is correct, I deleted the folder that is pointed to in the General / Configuration Paths category of Global Options.

Cheers,
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-02-2018, 02:24 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,532
Hi Paul,

I've been able to replicate, but I don't even know how I got in that state because I was not getting the dialog previously in my SecureCRT installation.

As a note, the Global.ini setting mentioned corresponds now to the Create core file when application crashes option available in the General category of Global Options in SecureCRT/Mac. (But whether enabled or disabled, I still get the dialog.)

I have submitted this behavior for investigation by the development team. Should progress be made toward a resolution, or further information be requested, I will post in this thread.

If you prefer direct e-mail notification, contact support@vandyke.com and include "Bug Report - Forum Thread #11553" in the subject line.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-15-2018, 03:19 AM
guru2 guru2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Unhappy License File Permission Issues

I believe I am having a similar issue and I am unable to open the product. The issue did not occur in previous releases but seems to occur whenever the program is closed and the system is rebooted or power is lost (or in cases of failures). None of these recommendation below seem to work for me or maybe I lack the full understanding of what is expected to solve this problem. I know its an issue with the permission (as the message states) but when first set up it works with the permissions and appears to write to the directory (NAS).

Additionally, it also appears that each device is added, it tries to default to SSH for remote access and or file copy. This is very ignoring and times additional time to change each time. This additional issue makes we believe that there is an access issue but I have to go through such extreme measures to remove and re-add the program (reformat and then reinstall).

This message was not proofed. Please excuse any grammatical or punctuation errors.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-15-2018, 12:35 PM
berdmann berdmann is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 74
Hello guru2,

Are you saying you are seeing this exact same error?



If so, what happens when you press the "Ok" button?
Attached Images
File Type: png securecrt-startup-error.png (74.9 KB, 488 views)
__________________
Thanks,
--Brittney

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 AM.