Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Secure Shell

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2019, 09:33 PM
mrigs mrigs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Question Bulk change of saved or auto-connect login credentials

Hello All,

Our Org has recently provided me SecureCRT to use to SSH connect to dozens of *nix boxes that I have to work on. I would like to know if there is a way to be able to change all the passwords in bulk in some kind of a login script or command that will not have me login to these boxes and change them manually every time I change my password.

For example, in the PuTTY world we used to have the handy

-l <userName> -pw <password>

in which I can change the credentials in bulk for multiple boxes.

I am using Version 8.5.2 (x64 build 1799) on Windows 10.

Sorry, if this has been answered earlier. I wasn't able to find it. Please help!

Thank you
M
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2019, 07:51 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi mrigs,

There is, but first I would like to find out where your credentials are saved because with Logon Actions, it is imperative that all your sessions are formatted the same way.

First, of course, you would always want to make a backup of your config (Tools -> Export Settings) in case something goes awry.
  • Are your credentials saved in the Connection / SSH2 category? (Username just in the field available, but after choosing Password -> Properties... button, is Store Password enabled?)

  • Or is Automate logon enabled in Connection / Logon Actions and your credentials being sent by those Expect/Send sequences?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2019, 09:38 PM
mrigs mrigs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Thank you for the response, Brenda. I was currently having my passwords saved with this option -

Quote:
Are your credentials saved in the Connection / SSH2 category? (Username just in the field available, but after choosing Password -> Properties... button, is Store Password enabled?)
I couldn't actually get this other option to work to connect to my Linux/AIX servers -

Quote:
Or is Automate logon enabled in Connection / Logon Actions and your credentials being sent by those Expect/Send sequences?
I am sure it works, but probably will take the noob in me a little more time to get used to it!

Please do let me know what can be done to solve my situation with the credentials.

Best,
M
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2019, 08:09 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi mrigs,

OK, Default Session is the way to bulk change the credentials then.

It can also be done when they are configured in Logon Actions, but you have to be careful that all sessions have the same number of entries and the same format as explained in this post by jdev.

Quote:
I am sure it works, but probably will take the noob in me a little more time to get used to it!
I'm not sure what difficulty you had, but if you do have credentials in the SSH2 location then that may interfere with what you were trying to configure in Logon Actions.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autologin , password


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 PM.