Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2018, 06:26 AM
markweiser markweiser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Question SecureCRT freezes when copying 1000+ lines

Hello,

I've noticed every time I have to copy 1000+ lines from SecureCRT to paste somewhere else, SecureCRT simply freezes for a while (around 10+ seconds).

I'm wondering, I understand that there's a large quantity of data that is been copied, but why does it freeze for so much time?
I mean, we all have at least i5 quad core 8gb RAM laptops, and it's copying only text, is it supposed to happen?

Currently running it in Windows 7 Enterprise, SecureCRT 8.3.2

Appreciate your time,
Marcus
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2018, 08:22 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,937
Hi Marcus,

I am not sure I understand the exact time of the delay.

Is it while *selecting* 1000+ lines?

Or when you actually choose "Copy"?

If the latter, how do you see the freeze manifest itself? (ie: does SecureCRT title bar display 'Not Responding'?)

In any case, can you provide explicit steps to replicate?

Also, if you have Copy to clipboard as RTF and plain text enabled in the Terminal / Emulation / Advanced category of Session Options, is the issue resolved if you disable it?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730

Last edited by bgagnon; 05-21-2018 at 08:51 AM. Reason: Added inquiry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2018, 05:21 PM
markweiser markweiser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgagnon View Post
Hi Marcus,

I am not sure I understand the exact time of the delay.

Is it while *selecting* 1000+ lines?

Or when you actually choose "Copy"?

If the latter, how do you see the freeze manifest itself? (ie: does SecureCRT title bar display 'Not Responding'?)

In any case, can you provide explicit steps to replicate?

Also, if you have Copy to clipboard as RTF and plain text enabled in the Terminal / Emulation / Advanced category of Session Options, is the issue resolved if you disable it?


Well, basically it's reproducible from my side if I copy 500+ lines to the clipboard (selecting and copying).. and yes, SecureCRT becames unresponsive for quite a while (No Responding status)

But after that tip, disabling Copy to clipboard as RTF and plain text the issue no longer happens, even if I copy more than 25000 lines

Thanks a lot!

Marcus
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2018, 07:10 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,937
Hi Marcus,

Great! I am glad to hear the issue was resolved by changing the configuration.

If you need to make this change to many or all sessions, see this tip on our website.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
copy , freeze , paste , securecrt


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 AM.