Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2012, 03:26 PM
sethropf sethropf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Every line pasted twice...

I was working today, generating some configs for a group of routers. I started applying the configs, got to the second router and out of nowhere, every line started pasting twice. For instance, if I copy this:

service nagle
no service pad
service tcp-keepalives-in
service tcp-keepalives-out
service timestamps debug datetime msec localtime show-timezone
service timestamps log datetime msec localtime show-timezone
service password-encryption
service linenumber

When I paste it I get this:

service nagle
service nagle
no service pad
no service pad
service tcp-keepalives-in
service tcp-keepalives-in
service tcp-keepalives-out
service tcp-keepalives-out
service timestamps debug datetime msec localtime show-timezone
service timestamps debug datetime msec localtime show-timezone
service timestamps log datetime msec localtime show-timezone
service timestamps log datetime msec localtime show-timezone
service password-encryption
service password-encryption
service linenumber
service linenumber

This only happens pasting into securecrt. Notepad++, Notepad, and even ditto clipboard manager sees it correctly.

Anyone have any idea what I screwed up?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2012, 04:25 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,633
Hi sethropf,

What version of SecureCRT are you using (and on what platform)?

Where did you copy the information **from**?

How are you pasting the information (ie: Edit menu, right-click context menu, etc.)?

The only configuration option I can think of that might cause doubling would be if Local echo was inadvertently enabled in the Terminal / Emulation / Advanced category of SecureCRT's Session Options.

What protocol are you using to connect to the router?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2012, 07:20 PM
sethropf sethropf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Just downloaded it, so whatever the most current version is.

Running on windows 8.

Tried copying info from notepad++ and notepad. (Checked characters in notepad++ as well, nothing but CRLF anywhere)

Pasted by right click, and from edit menu.

Checked local echo, it wasn't on.

I was connected over serial, but I ssh'd to an ASA and it was happening there as well.

Thanks in advance for any help, really frustrated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2012, 09:02 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,633
Hi sethropf,

So does upgrading to the current release (v7.0.2) also coincide with the appearance of this issue?

If so, what version were you previously using?

Could you provide trace options output (of an SSH2 session) per the instructions below?

To enable trace options output:
  • First, open SecureCRT's main File pull-down menu and select Trace Options. If you open the File pull down menu again you should see a checkmark next to Trace Options, indicating that troubleshooting output is now enabled.
  • Next, connect to the remote machine. With trace options enabled, you will notice debugging information displayed in the terminal window that isn't normally there by default when SecureCRT is attempting to establish a connection, and at certain times throughout the lifetime of the connection.
  • Once the problem occurs, please right-click inside the terminal window and choose Select All, then right-click again and choose Copy to transfer the information to the clipboard.
  • Finally, open a text editor, paste the information from the clipboard into the editor program, and save it as a text file.
Since trace options can contain sensitive information, feel free to send it as an attachment via e-mail to support@vandyke.com. Please reference "Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #10757" in the subject line.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2012, 11:57 AM
sethropf sethropf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Strangely enough, I think it was a router issue. When I started on configs this morning everything was fine until I started working with the same piece of equipment as yesterday. At that point I started getting the double pasting again, but this time it was only in that one session. That router, as it turns out, has another issue and is going to have to be RMAd. I have no idea how that router could have effected my laptop, but everything seems to be fine now. If I can reproduce the error again I will certainly get a trace for you.

Thanks for the response.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2012, 11:59 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,633
Hi sethropf,

Thanks for the update!
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2020, 12:42 PM
jeffgrantinct jeffgrantinct is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
same issue

I'm having same issue. Everything pasted from notepad to SecureCRT double pastes.


I checked Session options, terminal emulation, local echo.This is not checked. But it is still double pasting.



Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2020, 12:48 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,633
Hi jeffgrantinct,

What version of SecureCRT are you using?

What OS is it installed on?

What protocol is your session?

Does the issue occur only in one session? Or in all your sessions?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 PM.