Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2021, 11:27 AM
mrjoli021 mrjoli021 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 12
connecting to server with ssh keys via jump box

I have a server that I connect to via a jump box. This server uses ssh keys that are already installed on the jump box and I dont have access to them. I know I can put the jump box in the firewall section, but what about the ssh keys? It defaults to my local .ssh directory. How can I change the default location to look for the ssh keys in the jump box?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2021, 02:12 PM
cboyack cboyack is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 132
Hi mrjoli021,

You said, "This server uses ssh keys that are already installed on the jump box and I dont have access to them".
This is confusing...
If you don't have access to them, how do you expect SecureCRT to access them when SecureCRT is merely acting on your behalf? Can you please clarify?

You also said, "It defaults to my local .ssh directory."
This is also confusing...
What is "it" in this context?

You also said, "How can I change the default location to look for the ssh keys in the jump box?"
Can you please clarify who's doing the looking?
__________________
Thanks,
--Cameron

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2021, 05:11 PM
mrjoli021 mrjoli021 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 12
Sorry for the confusion. I log into a jump box, from that jump box I log into another server. This server uses password less authentication. I would like to create a new session in secureCRT and have it login via the jump box automatically.

I am just not sure how to tell secureCRT to use the jumpboxes keys. The only option I have to look for the ssh keys is on the local machine not the jump box.

thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2021, 02:35 PM
cboyack cboyack is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 132
Hi mrjoli021,

Thanks for sharing that information with me.

Since you're looking to essentially use automatic, password-less authentication via that jump host to the remote host, it looks like your best option is to utilize Logon Actions as described in this How-To.

After following the steps described in that How-To: Use Logon Actions to connect to a secondary host behind a Jumphost/Gateway post, are you able to set up a secondary session using Logon Actions from the jump host to connect to your remote host?
__________________
Thanks,
--Cameron

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
jumpbox jump box , sshkey

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 AM.