Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2017, 12:22 AM
doyanger doyanger is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
how to print tab character directly on session

Is there anyone can tell me how to set option of SecureCRT correctly to display a right TAB(\t) character other than four blank characters?

I create a serial COM session on SecureCRT, my printer will print visible ASCII characters and un-visible TAB character, but SecureCRT will receive TAB character and display four blank characters other than TAB(\t) character, which is not my desired case.

I had try to set "Display tab as" in Emulation/Advanced category of the Session Options dialog with "\t" or "{TAB}", but it not works.

appreciate your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2017, 08:15 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,292
Hi doyanger,

And you were getting the same behavior before you enabled Display tab as initially?

Are you sure it's a tab character you are receiving from the remote?

The best way to find that out is to capture a raw log.

To create a raw log:
  • Before connecting with the session, select Raw Log Session from SecureCRT's File menu.
  • In the Select Log File dialog, choose a folder and filename in which you would like the log text to be stored and press the Save button. At this point, if you open the File menu, you will notice that the Raw Log Session menu item now has a check-mark next to it; this indicates that raw logging is activated.
  • Now connect to the remote machine and perform the actions that cause the behavior.
  • Disconnect the session and select Raw Log Session from the File menu to turn off the raw logging feature.

Since a raw log can contain sensitive information, feel free to send it as an attachment via email to support@vandyke.com. Please reference "Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #12866" in the subject line.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2017, 03:07 AM
doyanger doyanger is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
Thanks for your quick reply!

And you were getting the same behavior before you enabled Display tab as initially?
=> yes, i can't copy printed message in SwcureCRT's display panel by Ctrl + C directly.


Are you sure it's a tab character you are receiving from the remote?
=> I confirm it's a TAB character.

I can get TAB character in Raw log file as you mentioned now, thank you for your help ~ but I think it is more convenient to get them by Ctrl + C directly in AP's panel, is there any option to enable it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2017, 08:51 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,292
Hi doyanger,

You are not going to see a tab displayed in output in the terminal window as it is an "unprintable character".

What problem are you trying to solve?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2017, 08:13 PM
doyanger doyanger is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
Hi Brenda
What problem are you trying to solve?
=> The serial remote will send formatted string, which is seperated by a TAB character, to SecureCRT, e.g. :

Raw data:
24c3 e972 (here the hex data is sperated by 1 TAB character)
29b1 f74d
28cd f40d
258a eca8
268e ef50
2822 f35f

Terminal data show as follow:
24c3 e972 (here the hex data is sperated by 4 blank characters)
29b1 f74d
28cd f40d
258a eca8
268e ef50
2822 f35f

These string display in terminal above, i wanted to copy them by Ctrl+C to my excel file simply, supposed they were located in 2 colums, but it fails, they are located in one colums.
It seems copying from Raw log file is the only right solution?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2017, 08:13 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,292
Hi doyanger,

I see. That can be as easy as mapping a one-line script to a button on the button bar and running it after you've copied the data to the clipboard:

crt.Clipboard.Text = Replace(crt.Clipboard.Text, " ", vbtab)

Does that work for you?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
display , tab


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 AM.