Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2011, 09:24 AM
toloughlin's Avatar
toloughlin toloughlin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 378
Session Logging

I know I've mentioned this before, but it's really killing me now.
I log all sessions (for commands, procedure etc) - and have ANSI colors on. The logs capture the ANSI color codes.

I can't easily use the logs because of what I have to sift through to get what I need.

For example -- "hmm, which files were in this directory before I started my maintenance ... let me look at the logs." The attachment is what I see in the logged session.

Help?
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen shot 2011-10-04 at 11.21.33 AM.png (17.8 KB, 963 views)
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Tom O'Loughlin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2011, 10:58 AM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
Hi Tom,

It looks like raw logging is enabled, and raw logging does capture all data sent by the remote, including escape characters (ANSI color, and terminal control codes) not normally visible on screen.

Normal logging captures data line by line (so, data is logged after a carriage return). If you disable Raw log in Session Options / Terminal / Log File, do you see only the output you're wanting, and all of the output you're wanting?
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2011, 06:40 AM
toloughlin's Avatar
toloughlin toloughlin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 378
Oh man, I feel like such a n00b with that one. All set. Thanks!
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Tom O'Loughlin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2011, 06:47 PM
1ne 1ne is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Would be nice to add a hotkey for logging.

I have submitted a Feature Request
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2011, 08:20 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,634
Hi 1ne,

Yes, your request was received and responded to via e-mail. Now that I see the thread you posted in I am not sure if you are talking about raw logging or not.

Is your request for the ability to map a key to perform raw logging?

I have added the information to map a key or button for "ad hoc" logging (File / Log Session) for other forum users benefit.

You can map a key or button to "log session" using the following information:
  1. Press the Map a Key... button in the Terminal / Emulation / Mapped Keys category of the Session Options dialog.
  2. Press the key (or keys) to map.
  3. In the Action section of the Map Selected Key dialog, select Menu Function from the Function dropdown menu.
  4. The dropdown menu to the right will become Menu Function. Select MENU_LOG_SESSION.
Buttons can be mapped by enabling the button bar (View menu), then "right-clicking" in the button bar space to create the button. Then follow steps 3 and 4 above.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 PM.