Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2010, 08:11 PM
Ulodesk Ulodesk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Changing default up-/download folders

Believe it or not, I am still using 5.2.2, wit Windows 7, and quite successfully. For file transferring, I can up and download from a remote computer only if I change the local folders to one on the desktop, in the session options.

Anyone know of a way to change these defaults permanently to desktop folders? Since I'm not using my Windows administrator account when I'm using CRT, Windows blocks access to the Program Files folders in Program Files/CRT.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2010, 06:57 AM
gan's Avatar
gan gan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 86
You can select "Options -> Global Options -> General -> Default Session" on the menu and than click the "Edit Default Settings" button. Change the upload and download directory there and it should be default for new sessions. When changed you will be asked if you want to update existing sessions with this change. I cannot remember in what version Vandyke added this feature so might not be available in 5.5.2.

Another option would be to edit the "Default.ini" manually and add the following:
Code:
S:"Upload Directory"=<upload path>
S:"Download Directory"=<download path>
Where you replace the upload and download path with the path to the desktop. For example:
Code:
S:"Upload Directory"=C:\Users\test\desktop
You can find the default.ini if you go into CRT and select "Options -> Global Options" and find the path in the "Configuration folder" field. Under that directory there should be a Session folder where the default.ini is located.

If you want to update existing session and your version of CRT does not have this feature you can use a text editor that is capable of "search and replace in files. Another option would be to upgrade CRT to the latest version of SCRT, it's not that expensive and then you get all the new features.

gan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2010, 08:15 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,218
Hello Ulodesk,

Thank you to gan for providing such valuable, valid information!

As gan mentioned, you can use 'Edit the Default Settings...' in the 'General / Default Session' category of CRT/SecureCRT's Global Options to apply a change to **all** your sessions. This functionality was added to CRT/SecureCRT in version 5.0, so it should be available to you.

There is a tip explaining this functionality available on our website here.

As a note, all purchases come with at least one year of product updates. Oftentimes, users fail to take advantage of an upgraded version they are eligible to use. You can check your upgrade eligibility, based on purchase date, at this page from our website.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 AM.