Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2011, 09:17 AM
jpermana jpermana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
moving session across 2 windows

Hi

Currently I am using latest version for secure CRT 6.7, and I was not able to move session between 2 windows.

As I remember in previous version, I was able to move session.

Just want to know if this feature has been removed ??

Thank

Jpermana
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2011, 09:50 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,049
Hello jpermana,

What method are you using for "moving sessions across 2 windows"?

In my tests, if you "right-click" on the tab and choose Send to New Window it works in SecureCRT version 6.7.1.

Clone in New Window and "Drag and Drop" work also.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2011, 11:10 AM
jpermana jpermana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Hi Brenda,

This is the scenario:

I open 2 windows (let's say window 1 and window 2), then open session (session A) on both windows. Then I can not move session A on window 2 to window 1.


If use "send to new window" then I am able to put session back to original window.

Thanks

jpermana
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2011, 11:38 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,049
Hi jpermana,

I tested SecureCRT version 6.7.1 and you can drag a single tab from one instance (window) to another. The SecureCRT instance where the tab was removed from then closes. In the new instance, the new tab name gets a number appended (ie: Session A (1)) because Session A is already taken.

What is your configuration in the Terminal / Tabs category of Global Options with respect to the following?
  • Only show tabs when there are more than one
  • Reuse disconnected tabs
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2011, 02:05 PM
jpermana jpermana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Hi Brenda,

This is how it look to your question.

uncheck - only show tabs when there are more than one

check - reuse disconnected tabs.


Here's what I tried, windows 1 with session A, windows 2 with session B. I still can not move session B from window 2 to window 1.

Thanks

Jpermana
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2011, 03:36 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,049
Hi jpermana,

As far as the destination SecureCRT window, where are you trying to drop the tab?

What icon do you see?

If in the tab region or terminal window itself, you should see an open box, meaning valid location. Otherwise, it would be a circle with a line through it, meaning not a valid "hot zone".

Please see the attached video that shows I am successfully able to do move a tab between SecureCRT instances.

If you see any differences in the way we are doing the task, please list your explicit steps.
Attached Files
File Type: zip CopyTabsBetweenSecureCRTInstances.zip (640.9 KB, 139 views)
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2012, 03:12 AM
egooner egooner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Move Session Between Window

I was wanting this function and it did not seem to work. Reading Brenda's response I tried it again and it still did not work. Then re-read switched to TAB and it works with a TAB.

If it works with TAB then can it be made to work with any way that a session is displayed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2012, 11:05 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,049
Hi egooner,

Since I can only think of one other way a session is displayed, are you asking for the ability to drag and drop tiled sessions (as opposed to tabbed sessions) between SecureCRT instances?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.