Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > VanDyke Archive Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2005, 03:35 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,591
FAQ: Error reported during migration

If you saw the following error when the migration wizard ran from SecureCRT 5.0, it means that your SecureFX settings were not migrated.

Quote:
SecureFX Migration Started

Migrating global configuration:
Migrating SSH global configuration.
Migration failed because no connection protocol DLLs
could be found in the folder:

C:\Program Files\SecureCRT\
In order to migrate your SecureFX settings, please follow these steps.
  1. Determine the location of the old SecureFX session database.
    Run SecureFX 2.2 and select "Session Database Location" from the Options menu.
  2. Back up the current SecureCRT 5.0 configuration folder.
    Run SecureCRT 5.0 and note the location of the configuration folder. This can be found by navigating to the General page in the Global Options dialog. Exit SecureCRT and rename the folder or move it to a new location.
  3. Install SecureFX 3.0 beta 1.
    Download and install SecureFX 3.0 beta 1, which can be found at the following web page.
    http://www.vandyke.com/download/securefx/beta.html
  4. Manually run the migration wizard.
    Open a DOS shell and navigate to the SecureFX 3.0 install directory. Type the following line at the command prompt:
    .\migrate /Integrate
    Verify the paths that the migrate wizard chooses when the wizard runs.
You should now see all your sessions. You will see all your
sessions in both applications if you chose to integrate them.

Please let me know if there were any problems with the migration.

Maureen

Last edited by Maureen; 03-02-2005 at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2005, 09:41 AM
TreborG2's Avatar
TreborG2 TreborG2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Strasburg, VA
Posts: 21
uninstall / reinstall / merging and unmerging

Maureen,

will the steps you've posted also work for *unmerging*

I thought I'd try the merged format, but immediately relized it wasn't for me, and now I can't get them unmerged.

Every attempt I've made comes back to an error.... well except for this last one.. I went from sfx2.15, to 2.2 (failed inplace upgrade for free) and then to SFX3 where at least now it allowed me to create a blank sessions database.. I guess I royally messed up something along the lines..

-T

**edit**
Well guess that's not an option now either.. my backup isn't any good.. Gee... never thought I had to have a *known* good backup!

Last edited by TreborG2; 04-04-2005 at 09:52 AM. Reason: additional note
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2005, 10:47 AM
jpv jpv is offline
Weekend Programmer and CEO
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: VanDyke Software
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by TreborG2
Maureen,

will the steps you've posted also work for *unmerging*

I thought I'd try the merged format, but immediately relized it wasn't for me, and now I can't get them unmerged.
T,

Can you elaborate on why a "merged" session database wasn't for you?

--Thanks, Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2005, 11:45 AM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,591
As Jeff mentioned, we'd be interested in hearing why merging wasn't for you. The steps for unmerging can be found in the following thread.

http://forums.vandyke.com/showpost.p...30&postcount=8

You can use your current sessions, so you won't need your backup. SecureCRT and SecureFX shouldn't have overwritten your original settings. Were those bad or was it a backup that you did manually?

Maureen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2005, 02:22 PM
TreborG2's Avatar
TreborG2 TreborG2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Strasburg, VA
Posts: 21
Sorry for delay, didn't have notify on.. Why merged DB isn't for me

Why merged DB isn't for me.. or how I really messed up my sessions and should now just learn to love the bomb..

Ok seriously.. Merged sessions weren't seen as seperable on the connection screen. So I would have had to remember which ones were just for SFTP and which not..

Additionally, I only SFTP to a few machines, and rarely to the number of machines I'm ssh'ing to, in the grand scheme of say 100 sessions, maybe 10 would be those that I frequent, and any one of the others only on more rare occassions.

But now.. I've really messed things up, trying to point SCRT and SFX to different config directories, one reading the previously merged one and warning me, then depending on which directory I do set for the config, upon start up I get warnings that SFTP.DLL and FTP.dll aren't there and I should re-install etc..

So this is not really about sessions then, its about sessions AND configuration, which had I realized what it would be like prior, I would not have merged... and kept SFX off on its few servers and SCRT on the 100 or so.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2005, 03:30 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,591
Thanks for the feedback. If there were an option to only view sessions configured for file transfer in SecureFX and sessions configured for terminal in SecureCRT, would that make integration more desirable to you?

If you need some help getting your settings back in order, I could help you offline. Feel free to e-mail me at Maureen.Jett@vandyke.com.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2005, 03:30 PM
jpv jpv is offline
Weekend Programmer and CEO
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: VanDyke Software
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by TreborG2
Why merged DB isn't for me.. or how I really messed up my sessions and should now just learn to love the bomb..

Ok seriously.. Merged sessions weren't seen as seperable on the connection screen. So I would have had to remember which ones were just for SFTP and which not..

Additionally, I only SFTP to a few machines, and rarely to the number of machines I'm ssh'ing to, in the grand scheme of say 100 sessions, maybe 10 would be those that I frequent, and any one of the others only on more rare occassions.
What if there was an option... so that with a merged database only file transfer sessions were shown when connecting from SecureFX and only Terminal sessions when connecting from SecureCRT, would that help?

--Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2005, 03:47 PM
TreborG2's Avatar
TreborG2 TreborG2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Strasburg, VA
Posts: 21
or what about a tab at the top of the connection screen or a radio button ... something to click or activate with keystroke to switch between the two?

or along the side perhaps..

As for clients.. I pretty much only use SCRT & SFX .. and SFX I use to replace command line ftp and any other gui'd ftp client. although usually I'm downloading ISO's of different BSD's or Linux's...

You can admonish me if you like.. I didn't look enough at the setup screens when in "combined" mode... and after attempting re-installs it seems to have caused an even greater problem.. I tried to follow the instructions for seperation.. but in the registry, I was already set to 0 for the "Integrated" key... and from other attempts during the unmerge/merge.. which I guess was to save _me_ from overwriting.. I had 3 or 4 "Vandyke" directories (like VandykeConfig1 ... )

I've resolved to get myself back to where I should be.. and then attempt the merge again.. just to see what it should be like under normal conditions.

-T
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:25 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,591
We are planning to add an item to the Connect dialog's right-click menu that will allow you to toggle between showing all sessions and showing only sessions configured for the current application. This item will only be available when SecureCRT and SecureFX are integrated. We hope to have this implemented in the next beta.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2005, 10:04 AM
craigm craigm is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
What if "integration" already done without migration steps?

Hello,

I use SecureCRT 5.0 Build 871, which has about 18 sites set up in Connections tab, all are SSH2 shell access sites.

I was then trying out SecureFX 2.2.1 or something (I forget the version but this is the latest one on the free evaluation page).

I purchased SecureFX today, half an hour ago, and registered it.

Then, I saw the "Check for Updates" frm the Help menu in SFX and the website told me "Secure FX 3.0 Beta 5" is available.

So I downloaded it and installed it on top of my existing SFX. When the new SFX started, it asked me if I wish to integrate with the SecureCRT sites (which are SSH2, but I use SFTP for SecureFX) so I said yes.

At this stage, NO ADVICE was offered to me to backup any config files or data. So I did not follow the steps laid out for migration in this thread.

Now, when I start SecureFX, it shows me the error message:

Quote:
Unable to load C:\Program Files\SecureCRT\Connection Protocols\SSH2.dll. Please reinstall SecureFX.
What should I do? After the SFX software loads up, it shows me the same Connection menu to my sites as SecureCRT, but I cannot click on them. The "Connect" button is disabled.

Help!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-18-2005, 10:20 AM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,591
Please try installing SecureCRT 5.0 beta 5. It can be downloaded from the following web page.

http://www.vandyke.com/download/securecrt/beta.html

Let me know if the problem persists after installing beta 5. By the way, the migration process does not overwrite anything, so your old session database is still there.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-19-2005, 12:16 AM
craigm craigm is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Now even SecureCRT won't work!

I installed SCRT 5.0 beta 5. Now even SCRT won't start. When I load the software, it quits with this message:

Quote:
Unknown connection protocol for default or auto session:
None

Please reinstall SecureCRT.
Great, now I can neither use the FTP nor the SSH. Please let me know immediately what I need to do next. I have tried to reinstall SCRT 4.1.1 because I need to use it urgently, but it has forgotten all my 18 or so saved sessions, all of which I had customized.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:57 AM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,591
I'm sorry to hear that installing SecureCRT 5.0 beta 5 made things worse. Were the sessions created using 5.0 or 4.1?

Based on the error message you're seeing, I think the default session may have gotten in a weird state. I could look at it if you'd like to send it to me (Maureen.Jett@vandyke.com). It is called Default.ini and is usually found in the Application Data folder.

Maureen

Last edited by Maureen; 05-19-2005 at 11:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 PM.