Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 26 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2010, 09:42 PM
adudek adudek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
ssh session does not time out..

I was connected to a server that can only be reached through a vpn. I disconnect the vpn and the session never times out (ie the icon never transitions to disconnected) even after several minutes.
edit: it finally did after about 20 minutes

Last edited by adudek; 09-22-2010 at 09:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2010, 12:12 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi adudek,

It seems as though disconnecting the VPN doesn't cause a TCP/IP close to be sent to SecureCRT immediately. Otherwise, SecureCRT's icon would have changed to disconnected after receiving the TCP/IP close.

What is the behavior of other terminal applications in this scenario?

If you enable Send protocol NO-OP in the Terminal category of the Session Options dialog, do you see less time elapse between the point that you disconnect the VPN and when SecureCRT is informed that the VPN connection is no longer valid?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2010, 03:28 PM
adudek adudek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
I'll have to check. I do not recall this behavior in windows.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2010, 05:02 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi adudek,

Thanks for the update. I will wait to hear how your MacOS X terminal testing goes, and whether the Anti-idle option changes the behavior.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730

Last edited by rtb; 09-27-2010 at 04:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2010, 03:50 PM
adudek adudek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
That did indeed make a difference. I just enabled it for the default (60 sec) and it did time out.
Since the behavior between OSX and Windows is different, shouldn't the NO-OP option be enabled by default in OSX?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2010, 04:58 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi adudek,

Thanks for the update. I am glad to hear that enabling the Anti-idle measure helps resolve this issue.

I am not sure that this is an OS issue that needs to be handled differently in SecureCRT depending on the OS on which SecureCRT is installed. It sounds like this may be a limitation of the VPN.

If you remove the VPN from the picture, is there a delay between the time that the network connection is removed, and the time SecureCRT indicates that the connection is down via the tab indicator?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2010, 09:14 AM
adudek adudek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
I don't think VPN has anything to do with the SecureCRT not timing out.
If a host disappears, with or without a VPN, the behavior is expected to the same.

The retest I did was without the VPN and the behavior is the same until I checked the NO-OP box.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2010, 11:30 AM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
Hi adudek,

Our developers would like to look at SecureCRT trace options with the debug level set to 9. Since the trace options can contain sensitive information we would like you to send the trace options to us rather than posting them to this forum thread.

Can you edit your session's .ini file and change the trace level line from 0 to 9?

Change this:
D:"Trace Level"=00000000

to this:
D:"Trace Level"=00000009

After making the change, connect to the session and repeat the steps necessary to duplicate the problem. Once the problem occurs, please right-click inside the terminal window and choose "Select All", then right-click again and choose "Copy" to transfer the information to the Windows clipboard. Once copied, please send the information to support@vandyke.com with a subject line that includes Forum Thread 6151.
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 PM.