Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Secure Shell

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2018, 08:49 PM
nolan.rumble nolan.rumble is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Global Options - Tab Tiling

Hi,

I'm trying to utilize the command window to send the same set of commands across multiple SSH sessions.

When new input is sent, the tab turns blue (New Input), however over slow connections, some sessions take longer to input all the data and unfortunately I don't know when it's finished sending all the commands without switching between windows. Is there a way to change the tab color once all the output has been sent?

Thanks
Nolan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2018, 08:33 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,020
Hi Nolan,

That functionality is not available presently.

I have created a feature request on your behalf in our product enhancement database for the ability to customize (add) actions associated with tab status indicator color changes (end of output). Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #13219" in the subject line or use this form from the support page of our website.

I would think you could have a script that uses WaitForString() to wait for the expected prompt after output completes and then alerts you somehow.

Is there any commonality among the prompts for the sessions that suffer from latency?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2018, 10:10 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,020
Hi Nolan,

My manager pointed out an existing feature that might help you accomplish this objective.

In the Terminal / Tabs/Tiling category of Global Options, there's an option Show inactivity status after ## seconds. If you configure that for the maximum possible amount of time you think the output might take that might be a plausible workaround for you.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2018, 07:17 PM
nolan.rumble nolan.rumble is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks for this. I think this might work with the inactivity.

What are the conditions for inactivity though? No commands being sent through the session or command window or no response from the remote session?

Is there a way to set the inactivity on a per session basis? For example, when managing a device over a very high latency link, increase the inactivity timer but when when working on a local network device where the latency is super quick, decrease the inactivity timer?

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks!
Nolan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2018, 09:33 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,020
Hi Nolan,
Quote:
What are the conditions for inactivity though? No commands being sent through the session or command window or no response from the remote session?
The prerequisite presently seems to be that the tab has received some input since enabling the option but then is inactive (no input/no output) for the set number of seconds.

In our tests we thought that behavior was a bit off from the way the feature is documented so we have asked the developers to investigate (ie: if you open a new tab, it needs to be treated as inactive if you don't do anything in it within the configured time interval). I will post an update here when there is further news. If you want to be notified directly, use the instructions below, but use "Bug Report" as part of the subject line.

However, for how you intend to use the feature, we think the behavior won't negatively impact your objective.


Quote:
Is there a way to set the inactivity on a per session basis?
Not presently. I have added this thread to a feature request in our product enhancement database to add the ability to configure 'Show inactivity status after: <#> seconds' on a per session basis. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #13219" in the subject line or use this form from the support page of our website.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2018, 03:06 PM
nolan.rumble nolan.rumble is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks for the quick response Brenda! I'll keep an eye out for the changes in future versions!

Nolan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
color , command , tab , tiling , window


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 PM.