Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2012, 11:23 PM
Flyers01 Flyers01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 25
password issue

I have securecrt version 6.6
I have a problem with saving passwords for SSH

I click save password however I always get authentication failure.
Is there a bug or workaround for this thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2012, 08:32 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Flyers01,

Thanks for the question. In older versions of SecureCRT, updating a saved password that existed in the Keychain was not possible.

If you are using Keychain and you want to continue to use it, then you will need to upgrade to SecureCRT 7.0 which does allow one to update a saved password in Keychain.

If you do not care if you use the Keychain to store passwords, then you can disable Use Keychain located in the Terminal / Advanced category of the Global Options dialog. Disabling the option may result in you having to save your passwords to the session .ini files for many if not all of your sessions, but once you have done this, you should be able to update saved passwords in SecureCRT 6.6.

If you are not using Keychain, would you provide an exact set of steps you are using to produce the problem?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730

Last edited by rtb; 08-03-2012 at 10:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2012, 09:39 AM
Flyers01 Flyers01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 25
I am using the default. The problem is I save the password however when I reconnect it fails with pass authentication issues.

Almost like the wrong password was saved "AND I KNOW I PUT THE CORRECT PASSWORD IN"

Cause I connect the first time with that password
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2012, 10:23 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Flyers01,

Thanks for the update. Would you confirm explicitly whether or not you have Use Keychain enabled?

Would you post the exact steps you are taking after you launch SecureCRT to the point where you see the error?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2012, 10:39 AM
Flyers01 Flyers01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 25
I don't anything about key-chain
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2012-08-03 at 11.38.55 AM.png (79.7 KB, 1056 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2012-08-03 at 11.40.17 AM.png (66.3 KB, 922 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2012, 12:48 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Flyers01,

Thanks for the screenshots. It appears as though you have a session called R1. I can see that you erased a hostname, and a username in the Connection / SSH2 category.

I also see that you posted a screenshot of the Terminal / Advanced category of the Sessions Options dialog for the session named R1.

Would you post a screenshot of the Terminal / Advanced category in the Global Options dialog?

You can access Global Options by selecting it from the Options menu.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2012, 01:59 PM
Flyers01 Flyers01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 25
ok now I see keychain. If I uncheck that then my password is never saved.
However this is my problem.

I wan the password saved so it connects automatically

Thank you for all of your help
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2012-08-03 at 2.56.52 PM.png (42.7 KB, 1061 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2012-08-03 at 3.00.42 PM.png (21.8 KB, 774 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2012, 02:29 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Flyers01,

If you want to use the Keychain to store passwords, you will have to upgrade to SecureCRT 7.0 to update passwords that are already saved.

If you want to use the session .ini file to save passwords, then you will need to disable the Use Keychain option, and you can save passwords, and update saved passwords in any version of SecureCRT that runs on Mac OS X.

Does this help to clarify?

If not, would you post a list of each action you take (whether it be typing or a mouse click) from the point you launch SecureCRT to the point where you see the error?

For example:
  • Launch SecureCRT
  • Select session in Connect dialog
  • Press the Connect button
  • Enter password in authentication dialog
  • . Etc.
  • . Etc.
  • . Etc.
  • . Etc.
  • . Etc.
I need the exact steps you are taking and I need to know whether you have Use Keychain enabled or disable when you are taking the steps.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-21-2015, 02:44 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,015
Hi all,

Please note that as of SecureCRT v7.0.x, the Use Keychain option is in the General category of Global Options.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 PM.