Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2018, 02:35 AM
bytegetter bytegetter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
MAC: Changing Paths after reinstall

Hi,

My old company macbook was brocken, so they gave me a new one. I installed a backup and changed the user name.

After starting securecrt (latest official) it announced that it can not write the .lic-file into the (old) path.

The path ist configured in the usual config files.

It deleted securecrt and reinstalled it, but it keeps writing in the old, not existet, path.


How can I change the mainpath?

BR,
Bytegetter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2018, 10:30 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,555
Hi bytegetter,

Check what the output is from this command:

defaults read com.vandyke.SecureCRT | grep SecureCRT

If the config path listed differs from the config path you believe the installation was configured to use, starting with a clean configuration folder path should fix the issue.

Here's how:
defaults delete com.vandyke.SecureCRT "Config Path"
If you run that command at a local prompt (via terminal) then start SecureCRT, what happens?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2018, 11:37 AM
bytegetter bytegetter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Hi,

Marcs-MBP15:~ marc$ defaults read com.vandyke.SecureCRT | grep SecureCRT
"Config Path" = "/Users/xxx 1/Dropbox/MAC/SecureCRT/Config";

This was the right path, but starting SecureCRT did not work, because SecureCRT wants to the old path with "xxx" without 1 (from the backup).

After
defaults delete com.vandyke.SecureCRT "Config Path"
I can start SecureCRT and I changed the path in the global section to the old one (copy paste from defaults), now SecureCRT works for me with the cold config and licence.

Best regards,
Marc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2018, 07:23 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,555
Hi Marc,

Great, I am glad to hear the issue is resolved.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:23 AM.