View Single Post
  #1  
Old 03-10-2021, 02:43 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,636
Question FAQ: Why is SecureCRT running in evaluation mode after upgrading to a newer version?

If installing a newer version of SecureCRT causes the newer version of SecureCRT to run in evaluation mode, it means the license data in place on your machine is not eligible to register the newer version.



AVOIDING THE ISSUE
To avoid installing a newer version of SecureCRT for which the existing license data is not eligible to register, individuals should use the Update Now... functionality found in SecureCRT's main Help pull-down menu.


Alternatively, individuals can use the Check for Updates... functionality in the same Help pull-down menu to view a web page which will show any newer versions available and whether or not the existing license data is eligible for registration.


RESOLVING THE ISSUE
If you installed a newer version of SecureCRT for which the existing license is not eligible to register, SecureCRT will provide you with 30 days of evaluation in which you can continue to use the newer version and evaluate whether the additional capabilities of the newer version are worth purchasing an upgrade license.

If your time spent evaluating the newer version does not convince you that it's worth purchasing an upgrade license, you can install the older version you were running prior to installing the newer version.

Installers for prior versions of VanDyke Software products can be found in the Previous Releases section in the blue navigation bar at the end of most every page at www.vandyke.com (even the one you're looking at now).
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730