VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   WebDAV (OwnCloud) (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=14070)

SuHK 02-11-2020 10:12 PM

How to connect with WebDAV?
 
I just purchased an upgrade to 8.7 and wanted to add a WebDAV connection to an OwnCloud instance in SecureFX, but I can't find a lot of info on it.

I chose HTTPS as protocol. But usually you would enter an URL for a WebDAV connection, not just a hostname. For instance:

your-ip-address/owncloud/remote.php/webdav

Entering the URL in the hostname field won't work.

Am I missing something?

bgagnon 02-12-2020 12:45 PM

Hi SuHK,

I am not entirely sure myself. :)

I think you would use your-ip-address as hostname for the https session and then just paste the rest (/owncloud/remote.php/WebDAV) in the address bar of the remote window.

But I am seeking to verify that with the SecureFX product manager. I've also requested the SecureFX Help files get updated with the info.

bgagnon 02-13-2020 03:33 PM

Hi SuHK,
Quote:

Entering the URL in the hostname field won't work.
In what way didn't it work? Could you not even save a session with that info in the hostname field?

If you could, just the connection was unsuccessful, I suggest you:
  • Enable logging to a file. You can configure logging to a file in the File Transfer / Options / Advanced category of SecureFX's Global Options.
  • Set the protocol to HTTPS and configure the hostname as the URL you would normally connect to (your-ip-address/owncloud/remote.php/WebDAV)
When it fails, send the log file as an attachment to support@vandyke.com and reference Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #14070 in the subject line.

If you can't even save the session with the full path (your-ip-address/owncloud/remote.php/WebDAV), try just your-ip-address as hostname and provide that log file instead. :)

SuHK 02-14-2020 02:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bgagnon (Post 53061)
In what way didn't it work? Could you not even save a session with that info in the hostname field?

If you enter "cloud.server.com/remote.php/webdav" in the new connection wizard it throws an illegal character error and won't continue. That's when I made the initial post.

I later found out if you enter https://cloud.server.com/remote.php/webdav it truncates to cloud.server.com and saves "remote.php/webdav" as initial directory without notice. But connecting still won't work with different error messages.

We followed up via email with logs.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 PM.