VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Always on Top (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=13529)

jjvalstar 05-06-2019 01:46 AM

Always on Top
 
SecureCRT (8.1.4) keeps always opening with 'Always on Top' enabled.
Every time I disable this and click on 'save settings now' but once SecureCRT is closed and I started it again it's back.

bgagnon 05-06-2019 09:56 AM

Hi jjvalstar,

It is likely the permissions on your config are such that the change you are making is not being saved.

The location of your config folder is found in the General / Configuration Paths category of SecureCRT's Global Options.

jjvalstar 09-15-2019 11:22 PM

Always on Top
 
The profile where the config is stored is at:
<Drive>:\Users\<User>\AppData\Roaming\VanDyke\Config

Which mean that it is my profile and full under my control (beside that, I'm also the administrator of the PC).

bgagnon 09-16-2019 09:29 AM

Hi jjvalstar,

What you see/select in the View menu is something that is only going to persist until you close SecureCRT (memory only option).

The Session window always on top configurable option is a session-level config option (likely a legacy option from before tabs were supported).

If you disable this option in all sessions using Default Session (it is in the Terminal / Appearance / Window category), the issue should be resolved.

See this video for information on Default Session.

Also

Note: In order for a "change" to be applied to all other sessions, the Default session's option/field you're targeting must actually be modified/different from its current value. This means that if the targeted field you want to apply to all other sessions is *already* set to the value you want, you must first change it to something *different* (and apply that "change") and then edit the Default session again to set the option to its *desired* value (and apply that "change").

Since you would be making a change that affects many sessions, the recommendation is to export your config as a backup as a best practice. That can be done from the Tools menu (Export Settings), you would just specify an XML file where the info should be exported.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:03 PM.