VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Lost linux Screen scrollback buffer on SecureCRT 8 to 9 upgrade? (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=14489)

eva2000 04-06-2021 09:38 AM

Lost linux Screen scrollback buffer on SecureCRT 8 to 9 upgrade?
 
Seems after I upgraded from SecureCRT 8.x to 9.x on Windows 10, I lost ability to scrollback in my CentOS Linux Screen sessions ? Currently using SecureCRT 9.0.0 x64 build 2430 released on Feb 18, 2021

My Screen has default set to scrollback buffer of 200000 lines in CentOS 7.9 servers I log into

Code:

cat /root/.screenrc
defscrollback 200000

Code:

rpm -qa screen
screen-4.1.0-0.26.20120314git3c2946.el7.x86_64

Even starting a Screen session with custom scrollback history size doesn't work
Code:

screen -S test -h 200000
I am using Terminal Emulation = Xterm with ANSI with 256 colour mode and Size of logical rows 90 and logical columns 157 with SecureCRT scrollback buffer at 128000 and on resize synchronize view to size. And Emulation mode has initial mode, Line wrap checked with Mode switching Enable 80/132 column switching unchecked.

eva2000 04-06-2021 09:51 AM

Seems changing from Terminal emulation mode Xterm with Ansi 256 color to VT100 with Ansi gave me back my screen session's scrollback buffers!

jdev 04-06-2021 10:38 AM

Older versions of SecureCRT (prior to 8.7.x) which don't support "true color" (24-bit color codes) present themselves to the remote shell as a terminal of type: "xterm".

Newer versions of SecureCRT (8.7.x and newer) which do support true color present themselves to the remote shell as a terminal of type: "xterm-256color".

It seems that your remote application may not understand what an xterm-256color terminal is, or otherwise might be confused by it.

If you want to have xterm capabilities (rather than relenting to VT100), and avoid confusing the remote app, you can leave the terminal emulation set to Xterm, and then set the Terminal type field to "xterm" in the Terminal > Emulation > Advanced category of Session Options in SecureCRT so that SecureCRT will advertise itself as "xterm" instead of "xterm-256color".

--Jake

eva2000 04-06-2021 02:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdev (Post 54862)
If you want to have xterm capabilities (rather than relenting to VT100), and avoid confusing the remote app, you can leave the terminal emulation set to Xterm, and then set the Terminal type field to "xterm" in the Terminal > Emulation > Advanced category of Session Options in SecureCRT so that SecureCRT will advertise itself as "xterm" instead of "xterm-256color".

--Jake

Hi Jake, thanks that seems to have worked too!

much appreciated :)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:07 AM.