VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   moving session across 2 windows (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=8357)

jpermana 06-24-2011 08:17 AM

moving session across 2 windows
 
Hi

Currently I am using latest version for secure CRT 6.7, and I was not able to move session between 2 windows.

As I remember in previous version, I was able to move session.

Just want to know if this feature has been removed ??

Thank

Jpermana

bgagnon 06-24-2011 08:50 AM

Hello jpermana,

What method are you using for "moving sessions across 2 windows"?

In my tests, if you "right-click" on the tab and choose Send to New Window it works in SecureCRT version 6.7.1.

Clone in New Window and "Drag and Drop" work also.

jpermana 06-24-2011 10:10 AM

Hi Brenda,

This is the scenario:

I open 2 windows (let's say window 1 and window 2), then open session (session A) on both windows. Then I can not move session A on window 2 to window 1.


If use "send to new window" then I am able to put session back to original window.

Thanks

jpermana

bgagnon 06-24-2011 10:38 AM

Hi jpermana,

I tested SecureCRT version 6.7.1 and you can drag a single tab from one instance (window) to another. The SecureCRT instance where the tab was removed from then closes. In the new instance, the new tab name gets a number appended (ie: Session A (1)) because Session A is already taken.

What is your configuration in the Terminal / Tabs category of Global Options with respect to the following?
  • Only show tabs when there are more than one
  • Reuse disconnected tabs

jpermana 06-24-2011 01:05 PM

Hi Brenda,

This is how it look to your question.

uncheck - only show tabs when there are more than one

check - reuse disconnected tabs.


Here's what I tried, windows 1 with session A, windows 2 with session B. I still can not move session B from window 2 to window 1.

Thanks

Jpermana

bgagnon 06-24-2011 02:36 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hi jpermana,

As far as the destination SecureCRT window, where are you trying to drop the tab?

What icon do you see?

If in the tab region or terminal window itself, you should see an open box, meaning valid location. Otherwise, it would be a circle with a line through it, meaning not a valid "hot zone".

Please see the attached video that shows I am successfully able to do move a tab between SecureCRT instances.

If you see any differences in the way we are doing the task, please list your explicit steps.

egooner 09-04-2012 02:12 AM

Move Session Between Window
 
I was wanting this function and it did not seem to work. Reading Brenda's response I tried it again and it still did not work. Then re-read switched to TAB and it works with a TAB.

If it works with TAB then can it be made to work with any way that a session is displayed.

bgagnon 09-04-2012 10:05 AM

Hi egooner,

Since I can only think of one other way a session is displayed, are you asking for the ability to drag and drop tiled sessions (as opposed to tabbed sessions) between SecureCRT instances?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.