VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   SecureCRT on the Mac (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   SecureCRT restore previous session windows/tabs after reboot/upgrade (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=14017)

mfatty 12-19-2019 12:24 PM

SecureCRT restore previous session windows/tabs after reboot/upgrade
 
SecureCRT version 8.3.1,
MacOS 10.12.6

Is there a setting make sure whatever happens (laptop planned/unplanned reboot, software upgrade, secureCRT exit, some crash), to have secureCRT to restore previous session. By previous session I mean I want secureCRT to restore all the windows/tabs with their history, that I had open before the incident.

I'm logging sessions but I'd like to have the sessions to restore.

Thanks

berdmann 12-19-2019 02:51 PM

Hi mfatty,

Have you had a chance to test with the "Remember and connect to sessions from last use" option enabled?

You can enable this setting in Options > Global Options > Default Session.

Does enabling the "Remember and connect to sessions from last use" setting provide you with the desired functionality?

mfatty 12-19-2019 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by berdmann (Post 52797)
Hi mfatty,

Have you had a chance to test with the "Remember and connect to sessions from last use" option enabled?

You can enable this setting in Options > Global Options > Default Session.

Does enabling the "Remember and connect to sessions from last use" setting provide you with the desired functionality?

No, that option is not solving my problem
ENABLED "Remember and connect to sessions from last use".
I have two ssh sessions open in two tabs (one window, two tabs).
I closed Securecrt (the x on the window), relaunched Securecrt and it just opens a blank window. NO sign of my last session.

berdmann 12-19-2019 04:57 PM

Hi mfatty,

On mac you have to actually quit SecureCRT (close the program) in order for this functionality to work properly.

Please refer to the following steps to quit open applications on macOS:
  1. Click on the name of the program just to the right of the Apple icon at the top left of the screen.
  2. Select Quit at the very bottom of the drop-down menu.
Or you can use the keyboard shortcut Command-Q to close the program, as an alternative.

If you close SecureCRT in this manner and then re-launch SecureCRT are the last sessions remembered by SecureCRT?

berdmann 12-21-2019 05:24 PM

Hi mfatty,

I have a clarifying question about your original request...

Quote:

By previous session I mean I want secureCRT to restore all the windows/tabs with their history, that I had open before the incident.
When you said that you would like to be able to restore the "history", were you referring to the output in the scrollback buffer or were you referring to command history?

dangerski 01-11-2020 10:50 PM

This has been a long-time wish of mine. I always keep two SecureCRT windows open with 8-10 tabs each. On windows, if I do a reboot, both SecureCRT windows reopen with my saved tabs. However, on the mac, only a single SecureCRT window opens after restarts, and I need to open a new window and repopulate each tab.

bgagnon 01-13-2020 09:23 AM

Hi dangerski,

How do you start the second window in SecureCRT/Windows?

When both are open, how many SecureCRT.exe processes are shown in Task Manager?

How do you start the second window in SecureCRT/Mac?

When two windows are open in your SecureCRT/Mac, how many processes are shown in Activity Monitor?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:46 PM.