VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   How do you launch SecureCRT for RH7? (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=14345)

SecureKomrad 11-16-2020 10:28 AM

How do you launch SecureCRT for RH7?
 
I downloaded and installed the rpm for SCRT 8.0.4 for RH7,without any errors. However, the application isn't in the "Applications" pull down menu, and I can't figure out the command is to start it from a terminal shell.

I opened a new shell and tried "which scrt" and "which SecureCRT" and there are no results. What is the command to start the SecureCRT app?

SecureKomrad 11-16-2020 11:48 AM

Good news. I found it at /usr/local/bin/SecureCRT which apparently wasn't added to my path. I'll add it.

Second question, is there a way to create an application icon for the SecureCRT application? I'm used to installers doing that for me, but I can probably create a .desktop file manually if needed.

I'm on CentOS 7.6 and SecureCRT 8.0.4.

cboyack 11-16-2020 12:19 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hi SecureKomrad,

First off, please note that SecureCRT version 8.0.4 is no longer under active support or development and has not has not been since 26 Jan, 2017.

SecureCRT version 8.7.3, the current official version, is also supported on RHEL 7. If your license is eligible to register with the current official version of SecureCRT, I'd highly recommend that you download and install the current official version.

You can check whether your license is eligible by either emailing support@vandyke.com with your serial number or checking version eligibility on our upgrade eligibility page.

That being said, the SecureCRT app, if installed correctly from the rpm, should be visible in the Internet section of the Applications dropdown menu in RHEL 7, as shown in the below image:

https://forums.vandyke.com/attachmen...achmentid=2018

Can you see SecureCRT in this location?

You may also want to try to see if the app is visible from the Show Applications option on the Activities Overview option from the Applications drop-down menu.

If the app is not visible in either location, I would suspect that the installation did not complete correctly in your environment and I'd highly recommend that you try using the current official version of the software.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:55 AM.